April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

LDRU

by mollrow - 48 Hour Compo Entry

To run the game you will need to download and extract the zip. Try double clicking the jar and it should start the game. If not you'll need to go into a terminal or command line and run 'java -jar LDRU.jar' in the directory you extracted it to. Requires Java 7.

Thanks to iximeow for figuring out my rendering bug.

Used:
LWJGL
Slick-Util

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#325Theme3.77
#372Humor2.53
#494Innovation3.19
#538Fun3.00
#861Overall2.89
#1120Mood2.22
#1275Graphics1.96

Comments

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06am

The game starts up but nothing shows up unless I drag the window.

mollrow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46am

That's odd... What operating system are you on? I've only tested on Linux, but the native libraries should be included on all operating systems.

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58am

I'm having the same issue. Win7 64bit. Tried 32bit and 64bit Java, 6 and 7. It's odd.

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03am

Games starts up but shows nothing unless I move the window around. tested on Windows 7 64-bit.

mollrow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

Downloading the source into windows. Going to try to find out what's wrong.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

Unfortunately I'm having the same problem as anyone else. Your screenshot intrigues me nonetheless!

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

Same issue here. Windows 8 64-bit.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

I liked it, minimal, got to the point and was reasonably fun; however i don't know if that's deliberate or not, whites kept flashing on my screen and gave me a tremendous headache. Someone could get seizures from this.

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

Interesting. It reminds me a bit of Antichamber with its whacky randomness; however, I didn't like Antichamber. It would have been neat if it was possible to learn the "bizarre physics" of each level by some sort of system rather than guessing and testing every possibility.

mollrow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27am

SkyWolf: It's not supposed to flash whites! D: I'm so sorry! There seem to be issues with how portable the game is and this might be a side effect from that.

wrongcoder: Totally agree. Spent a lot of time working on the physics system, had about 4-5 hours to do all of the game content. I thought the levels were short enough to just kinda figure it out. There is a system at work, and I'm sure if I had more time to do level design and hadn't wasted so much debugging parts of the code I ended up not using I would have definitely tried to make it more iterative. Thanks for the feedback :)

mollrow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28am

Update on windows: Downloaded the source, trying to compile now. Seems it can't understand how class paths work... more soon.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:28am

Great game, I like the concept very much ! More levels should have been good :)

mollrow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37am

Again I'm sorry about the situation on windows. I'll try to get it fixed this week but I don't know how much time I'll get to commit to it. If someone else more experienced with LWJGL and Windows can figure out how to jar this PLEASE send me a pull request on GitHub, I would really appreciate it!

aeveis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43am

I can run it sort of... the white lines/circles flash briefly before it's all black. I notice if I hold the window bar (like when you drag a window around on a computer) with my mouse or press r the screen flashes briefly again. When I spam mouse clicks on the window and I sort of see what's going on and can sort of control the circle but it usually flies off the screen. I'm using Windows 7 Professional 64bit. I just double-clicked on the jar after unzipping the game.

mollrow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Updated the submission to reflect that Windows is not working.

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

cant run( need stable windows version

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Unfortunately, I couldn't get it to run under latest OSX (MBP 13). I'll try downloading the source and see if I can get it to run somehow.

netmute says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Can't get it to run on OSX :(

tompudding says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Extremely cool. Experimenting to figure slightly weird systems like this out is very fun for me, so I had a blast.

mollrow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:26am

Glad you enjoyed it tompudding :)

May 1, 2013 @ 8:14am

No compatible OS.

iximeow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56am

Compiled fine for me, Win7 64bit with 64bit JDK7. Your graphics bug was having a
Display.update();
call in your render(), along with a second call immediately after. Display.update was drawing to and updating the screen correctly in render(), but the second call was (.. I think? not entirely sure) swapping buffers and displaying exactly nothing. Then doing Display.sync(60) made it wait with that blank screen being shown, which is why it appeared blank for some users rather than flickering.

I haven't used Git and don't have it installed, so I can't commit a fix or anything, but it's line 330 in your Game.java

As far as the game goes, I enjoyed it! It was a bit hard to understand that if you roll/bounce/fly off a surface, you cannot control your movement, though. Also detecting when the ball goes off the screen and letting the player know that the level becomes unwinnable at that point may be a good idea.

mollrow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Ack! Thank you so much! I spent a couple hours last night poking around trying to change things and see if they fixed anything but nothing was working. Nice catch :)

Glad you enjoyed it :) I agree that it would be nice to know if the level was unwinnable, that was just not a problem I had time to solve.

I've committed the fix and will be uploading an updated .jar shortly :)

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:30pm

WOW, this is really awesome! It reminds me of VVVVVV because of the gravity mess, but since VVVVVV is one of my all-time favourites, everything reminds me of it is awesome for me. ;) Very good idea!

Why do you thank Gearbox Software? Are you affiliated with them somehow? I mean the creators of HL: Opposing Force.

anbreizh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Very fun, the controls are a bit funky. I wish there was more levels.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Also, is it supposed to have sound? 'Cause it doesn't have for me.

mollrow says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:58pm

MegaBrutal: Glad you enjoyed it! There is no sound, didn't even have time to think about it :/ And yes, I'm an intern at Gearbox Software :) In May I'll have been there a year!

anbreizh: Yeah, all content creation happened in roughly the last 4 hours. One of the things that I regret was not giving the level design what it deserved, and fixing movement to clockwise or counter clockwise (it's determined by blind vector math right now). I look forward to improve on all of this next compo :)

woftles says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:29am

Worked fine, controls were very difficult, very frustrating. There was no sound and no mood but the minimalism theme was there. Overall an okay game

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:33am

That was pretty fun. I just wish it were longer.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37am

I was expecting just a little platformer, and then things got crazy! It's like a stick figure version of Mario Galaxy. ;) Fun little piece.

vapgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:38pm

That is really clever idea.
Very fun, but short.
Couldn't run it on win7 with java 1.6, but it worked ok on win8 with java 1.6.

nintendoeats says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:15pm

That is incredibly cool mechanically. Something about it makes it very awkward to control however. I think that if I was playing as something that indicated what direction is "up" (like a little guy) I would feel more connected to my actions.

In general, I just want to see my character conveying more information to me. which would of course be against the theme, but if you expand it that would be one way that I would do it.

Good work :)

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:47am

Pretty hard at first sight but I managed to finish the game somehow :). Interesting gravity idea.

May 12, 2013 @ 4:04pm

A neat idea. The gravity shifts mid air were very cool. Thanks for allowing us to use either arrows or wasd. :D Fun game, good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]