April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Clone Colony Frontier

by HuvaaKoodia - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Clone Colony Frontier is an amalgamation of a multiple LD themes such as Colony, Limited resources and No weapons allowed. Minimalism wasn't on my mind at all when designing the game but the interactions and graphical presentation do fit the call.

The game itself is about colony management. The goal is to survive in spite of seemingly random events and situations.

The initial idea had a large emphasis on how the crew interacted together, some would form friendships and families and while others would become sworn enemies.

In the end that design took a backseat as time constraints and other mechanics appeared and stuck around (somebody said clones, made my life a lot easier). I didn't have time to implement all of those mechanics either, but maybe you won't notice which ones aren't quite there yet. I do intend to follow up on this initial release later on.

Overall it was a great challenge and a weekend to remember.
Just like in previous Jams, I learned some new fast ways of going about coding and what not.

Have fun and games.

FILE:EDIT:
Added instructions and removed the console.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#515Humor2.27
#640Innovation3.02
#713Mood2.73
#940Overall2.81
#990Audio1.84
#1025Fun2.44
#1047Graphics2.37
#1298Theme2.40

Comments

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

This is a pretty complicated game, so I am not sure if just the graphics make it fit the theme. There needs to be spacing between the clone lists in the UI, because it is a little hard to see what information applies to what clone. Oh, and you misspelled "Healthy" :)

lambomang says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Pretty fun. I lasted for 628 days before all my clones died xD

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Thanks for the comments.

I'm already working on a new extended version where I'll iron out the bugs and hone the gameplay balance, so more suggestions are welcome.

Jod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Interesting game that would really benefit from some more content. I can kinda see the idea behind this, I was waiting for my clones to start hating each other (themselves?) and start a murder spree, but they never did :).

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Interesting simulation game - could do with some more feedback when things happen though. Perhaps set it in a spaceship for more interaction. :)

Lerc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Dude is hardcore http://i.imgur.com/nIt3C3V.png

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Can't play, have a mac.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:45pm

@Jod I didn't have time to implement many of the social interaction ideas, but I'm extremely interested in it, so that and other content coming up.

@Joror The idea is that feedback is based solely on the clones and Hal. So if they are messed up -> little feedback.
In this version the Clones don't talk that much though.

There are some things that work well on a spaceship and some not so much. I really don't want the game to be about combat like FTL for instance, but maybe as a additional part of sorts.

@Lerc Hahaa. I noticed that bug as well. I had a check in the code for that not to happen, but it was in the wrong place. Coding when tired -> great results.

@Tokken18 I've been looking at Opensource implementations of XNA recently. So hopefully in the future there will be Linux and Mac versions as well.

Egonor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:12pm

I agree on the most of feedback already given. It would be nice to see how many turns it would take to fix something as a lot of the time I didn't know if anything was happening. (My oxygen kept going down but both stations were manned for 30+ days.) The maintenance system seems really cool if the implementation is improved. Timed maintenance by a specific clone, increased innovation in the education system so clones can learn specific repair skills or mechanical skills.

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:15pm

I enjoyed this. The idea behind it reminds me of one of those old Chris Crawford games.

Nonameghost says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:12am

Nice! An interesting Strategy game. A bit complicated for me, I wasn't successful at it, but cool game in 48 hours.

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I like the idea, but there's not much feedback on what's happening behind the curtains. Like how do education and recreation affect clones? Is attitude a good or a bad thing? Does clone need to man the computer slot of a system to make it work? Platespinning was fun, but I never had a clue if I was doing well or not!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:33pm

@Egonor & Kyyninen
I intend to keep direct feedback relatively low key, so that the player has to rely on the reports and possibly outdated data.
Obviously there will to be a lot more of said data available. For instance a clone might report about the current repair task and give a time estimate every once in a while.

ATM education increases skills faster than working, while recreation helps to decrease some negative attributes which affect relations and work rate.
Proper instructions and tutorial are a must though.

kyru says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Interesting idea. Doesn't feel like much happens in the game, could use more information so you feel like more is going on. Doesn't really fit the theme.

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Nice game! I like the reference on the starting message :D

May 4, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Really good for a 48 hour game

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:11pm

This was pretty fun although after trying(and failing) to save my clones from dying and trying to figure out how to have an effect i just waited till they all died to see what would happen. It was really cool and the whole relations tab and everything shows there was obviously something there that wasnt quite implemented and it sounds like it would be really cool if it had the relationships between the crew memebers and if you could fix stuff ect.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:54pm

This is fun to play. And I'm sure with the planned interaction between the clones it would be even better.

HelkeGames says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Funny game, great job!

goerp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I'm not sure if I got this. I could do stuff and some I couldn't but wasn't always sure why.
But I tried to keep everbody happy (and the haters separate) and fed and all things running and it work for some time.
Some more feedback would have been nice, but I like this gam with minimal animation :)

acro says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:17am

Most things were guess-able from the UI, but I couldn't work out why Healthcare was off the bottom. The scrollbar was staring me in the face for 10 minutes and I never saw it. The drag and drop is kinda frustrating - there's no indication before you drop what will actually drop where, and moving stuff back left-to-right just to drop properly on another left panel got quite annoying. But this is still compelling for some reason - maybe the appearance of intelligent stuff happening ;)
Anyways... played for a bit. The food ran out. I have no idea why. Now I actually feel hungry...

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Thank you for the kind words people.

@acro There are a few bugs in the drag and drop system, but you should be capable of moving a clone from one occupation to another with no additional hassle.

Fnkee says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:31pm

I need more time to get into this game, but indeed it's fun! Would be great to have some kind of goal to work towards. Good job, and neat branching.

DST says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Strange stuff! Did like it though ^_^

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]