April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mondrianalism

by TrahDivad - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Theme4.43
#19Innovation4.18
#216Overall3.54
#224Fun3.39
#569Graphics3.00
#743Mood2.70
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

This game has the most unique use of these red, blue and yellow rectangles that I've grown accustomed to so far. I like it

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

I loved the simplicity in this and it's challenging levels however the bugs in it did make it odd to play

Danvil says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I could not understand how the numbers are calculated, but it was fun anyway. Like the usage of mondrian :)

Milo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

This is quite cool. It's not like anything I've seen before, and works quite nicely. I'd love to see more levels, but what's here is cool and took some thought.

I think that a discrete grid as opposed to the continuous situation that currently exists might work better (since then players wouldn't need to position their cursors so precisely). This is a rather small thing, though.

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Probably the most interesting use of the Piet Mondrian composition style out of all such games I played so far in this LD.

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

I don't fully grasp what makes up the balancing but great in concept and intuitive to control.

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Wow, I really enjoyed this game. Genius if you came up with this game mechanic on your own. Kudos! Great game that might work well as a commercial release in some form.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Unique idea :D
Its really different from other games of the Ludum Dare.
Quite nice.

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Very Mondrian-ish, in the search for color balance. Also is in some sort of way similar to my submission. Good work :)

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

I found this really clever, in fact, it's one of many really interesting entries this ludum dare. There have been a lot of good ones.

I did encounter what I believe to be a few bugs, but since you mention you were unable to get rid of all the bugs I'll assume you're aware they exist already and shan't go into detail.

This obviously fits the theme perfectly. The idea in itself feels very unique, and the game play is challenging and interesting through out. Such a simple puzzle, yet still a puzzle, much like a rubik's cube.

Nice work.

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:14am

I deserve a treat! :) Great concept!

Colapsydo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:33am

Nice use of rectangles.
Simple and fun at the same time.

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:17pm

nice little idea - the best mondrian inspired game I've played so far

very well done :)

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Great game, immediately loved it when I saw it in the 10sec video.

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:34am

Great idea... Loved the idea of the texto "Composition Balanced", it's so much better than "Congratulations" or "Success"... :)

Wiering says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Nice game!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:58am

I really enjoyed this little puzzler. Displaying the area sizes was a good design decision, otherwise it would have been too hard to play. I didn't notice any bugs.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]