April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Night

by Ivan_ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Last Night is my first Ludum Dare entry, I worked for around 15 to 20 hours on it.

Software I used:
- Unity (+ MonoDevelop)
- sfxr
- MS Paint
- Paint.NET
- Audacity
- iNudge

In The Last Night you need to kill as many enemies in a dark and scary environment. Your score depends on the amount of enemies you killed and the time it took for you to die.

Hope you like the game as it is the first game I actually finished, and also my first Ludum Dare entry!

Here's a video demonstrating it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vcQbRjugP0s

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#207Mood3.37
#703Audio2.45
#720Fun2.80
#735Graphics2.80
#916Humor1.75
#967Overall2.78
#1105Theme2.88
#1332Innovation1.65

Comments

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

The SE played when you get hurt is really funny lol

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

i like the rain.) interesting, but bored.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Great style. I like it a lot... a minimalistic zombie-survival game! I'd love some variations in the enemies. Other than that, really great game (kudos to your first game)!

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Good mood. Probably Unity's fault but the fullscreen option actually crashed my machine (Web Player version)!

Ivan_ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Thanks alwaysinbeta, and yeah, I think so because it worked on my PC and friends'.

Ivan_ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

bummzack: Thanks, and if this game gets any recognition I will make sure to improve it!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Nice first game !

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

nice

Helco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

wow, this was scary!
Good game :)

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20pm

The first time I died I jumped right out of my chair, I really wasn't expecting it :-) Well done!

DalsGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Good job on your first game! Liked it but somwhat boring

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Love the mood of this one. First completed game - you rock! Would like it if there was an end.. or at least the promise of one.. mwhu ha har!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

That was really fun. It freaked me out when I started getting eaten by zombies from behind the first time. haha, Great Game!

Ivan_ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Thanks everyone! All these comments will sure keep me in the game making hobby :D

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

It could be darker. :)
Very nice, especially for a first time effort. Audio was best. :D

Julian Ceipek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Excellent use of audio, graphics, and spawning behavior to convey mood in what would otherwise be a boring, generic FPS. The first time I played, I was attacked from behind, and thereafter, I was overcome with a sense of tension and claustrophobia. Nice work!

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I liked the creepy setting. Nice visuals. Well - I got killed pretty fast. And almost got a heart attack. I´m really not good at these types of games. But nevertheless a fun game and a great contribution :).

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Solid Shooter!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:54am

creepy -- loved the atmosphere -- great job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:00pm

HAHAHa I got slaughtered, and the screen goes to 100% red when you get hit. SOOO HARD

KEFIR says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:16pm

A little boring due to not much action... But I am sure you can make it much more fun! Graphics is nice!

cableplays says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:32am

fun but hard and it scared me the first time i got hurt haha

evilseanbot says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 3:23am

Very lovely mood! I thought it was a bit too easy if you kept to the hilly outskirts.

kddekadenz says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Boring. The rain is cool.

Arowx says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:28am

If you added an enemy sound effect the player would know when they are close also it would add tension and make it more fun. Good effort.

Benjamin says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:01am

the gameplay is basic but the execution is nice. I like The fact that corpses stop your move, it can be tricky when you have to escape. I tried to change the gfx from ugly to good but didnt noticed any differences.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]