April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Memory

by Stuffie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Usage
- Watch the First canvas and try and remember it
- Remove the lines by clicking to replicate what you saw
-- You cannot remove a line that another line starts or ends within (the line that is blocking will flash red)

Notes

After most of day 1 with minimal ideas, this idea was quickly rushed so I didn't get around to much polish or any audio, or even make that many puzzles for that matter . So there is not much guarantee that any of them will be that challenging or fun :P. But I had a fun time making my first LD48 Project.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#127Graphics3.84
#153Theme4.00
#217Innovation3.58
#509Overall3.21
#777Fun2.74
#1053Mood2.33
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Very original idea, it was fun playing it after all. Never saw a game like this, so I recommend this for everyone. Graphics were good, too.

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

I had trouble on the second puzzle, not sure if my brain is working though. Very polished appearance and performance.

petrocket says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Had fun playing this even though it just proved my visual memory is terrible. I like the use of easing in the transitions which made clicking things enjoyable. Didn't really need instructions it was so simple to grasp!

Frosnite says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Cool game! Simple concept, but difficult if you do not have a good visual memory like me :S. Cheers!

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:41pm

I couldn't beat the second level either :/ It seems like it might be impossible? Or am I missing an important element of the game? :o

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:43pm

That was cool. Very smooth.
Managed to it something a few times so the restart button goes off the screen.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Cool idea!
For one day of work it looks really nice. I like the dynamic feel of the levels. Graphics also look quite nice.

Cybearg says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Personally, it's a very difficult game for me to play. I basically have to restart over and over to memorize the pattern, since I can't remember it from a quick glance at all.

But there's nothing wrong with the game itself. The idea of removing lines to match an abstract pattern is a good one and the visual presentation is sharp and very appealing. Good job!

QXD-me says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Interesting idea, though I found it pretty difficult.

Wilson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Very slick, but I found it so hard :)

Jim Haslett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:45am

Interesting game. Very difficult, at least for me.

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:48am

Cool game, the art style fits the theme and it is challenging. Well done :D

Spelchan says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very clever puzzle game but a bit on the difficult side.

iFred_QC says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:46pm

My memory was extreeeeeemly minimal. Hint: I have the worst short-term memory you can imagine.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]