April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Yellow Space

by Leginar - Jam Entry

My team (Governor Cruise Lines) has finished our first game ever! Yellow Space! It's a spaceship racing/escape game where you try to navigate an obstacle course as fast as possible. There are a few things we wish we could have spent more time on... but we are really happy that we were able to finish within the Jam deadline.
We're looking forward to any feedback and are very excited to try all of the other games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#9Fun(Jam)4.06
#31Overall(Jam)3.89
#106Audio(Jam)3.49
#126Mood(Jam)3.43
#141Theme(Jam)3.65
#176Graphics(Jam)3.62
#288Innovation(Jam)2.92
#325Humor(Jam)1.94

Comments

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:34am

Totally rad. Awesome colors. It's pretty hard though. But I love the retro Tron-like feel.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38am

nice use of theme -- was the whole game made with unity primitives? great job

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:39am

I love going fast. This game gives you a great sense of speed. I wish the field was a little more spread out so that you could appreciate going fast a little more - get a feeling of just travelling quickly and feeling that thrill.

Mouse input would have been such a great addition to the game as well.

I enjoyed the graphical style - very retro but it's super-effective in this kind of game.

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40am

very cool, I couldn't finish it, but good work!

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:13am

Congratulations for your first game!! It's a very good one

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:20am

I couldn't get to the end. But I'm going to come back and try, because this was fun. Beautiful graphics by the way.

Waynetron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:54am

Music and graphics go well together. Love the retro feel.

hitchh1k3r says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:28am

Very readable colors, wish the faces of the yellow objects had some shading to determine where the gaps were.
Played it several times, and had a lot of fun. Very exciting for a minimal game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11am

Great infinite "runner", quite fun.

Would love an option to reverse up/down controls.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13am

Good fun! Couldn't beat it (yet) but I think that's because I refuse to slow down! Must go faster!!

The game played really well, although a slightly further draw distance would have helped. Both the art and the music worked with the theme well :)

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:27am

That was awesome! So intense.

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33am

I had to give up :( Pretty addicting though. Good job on y'alls first game.

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:58am

I love games about speed, and this both captures that well and then pivots the game's difficulty/challenge flow around it. Very, very smart design. I especially like how the level has such a grand sense of openness--I thought, hey I could totally cheat by sneaking off to the sides. Nope. Well done! (:

someone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:53pm

That was great. Loved the retro feel.

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:19am

The gameplay was really addictive and I really loved the background music. As for suggestions, I would say an option for an inversed y-axis (as probably mentioned before) and also an option to swap acceleration and movement controls (i.e. WASD to move, arrow keys for acceleration/braking instead).

Leginar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Just a quick update. Thanks for all the tips guys! We considered doing some of those things but we ran out of time. We're thinking about expanding the game and taking all of the feedback into account

Merkoth says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:10am

Really liked this one, fits perfectly with the theme, it's fun and looks great. Nice job!

pvwradtke says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:58am

Nice entry, loved the speed feeling. But I think that the way some obstacles are laid out makes the game very difficult. It requires perfect memorization if you want to score high.

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:08am

Love this one. 'Twas really fun to maneuver the ship around, and being able to customize the difficulty on the fly was a major plus. Good work!

CyberYeti says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:47pm

this is one of the best entries I've played yet, really amazing graphics and atmosphere. the music is wonderful and it's incredibly fun and addicting. wonderful job!

onzephyr says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:07am

love the retro feel and colors. Fun game, but I'm pretty bad at it so I didn't make it the end. to check it out.

robc says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:53am

Great job with the feeling of speed - you really do feel like you're getting faster as you speed up.

Controls work great too, and the style is certainly a great one for minimalism. Low polygon graphics for the win :)

brantkings says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Fun! It has this "just one more try" feel. I like that you start doing horizontal challenges, then vertical challenges, then combine them. That's good level design. The music is incredible as well. I just whished you could see more far away, because sometimes the only way to pass is crashing first, then knowing where to go.

DST says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Love the colors and graphics graphics style!

Beldarak says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Very addictive^^, and it fits the theme perfectly.

The only complain I have is that we can't inverse the y axis. Pressing down to go down in a flight game is very counter intuitive for me (and I guess for some other persons too).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]