April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

JUST KEEP MOVING!

by stefenism - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is as minimal as I could make it. I missed all the dance parties this weekend but it was worth it. I'm very humbled with this competition.

The goal of the game is high score. There are two tracks and the obstacles show up at random. Just avoid the red ones and the blue ones change your direction. Your score goes up the further you travel. Space bar changes the track you are on.

This was really fun and I was happy to participate. I'm doing the jam next year for sure.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#772Audio2.33
#901Theme3.17
#1034Innovation2.41
#1162Mood2.13
#1191Fun2.17
#1290Overall2.21
#1308Graphics1.78
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

I can't seem to see some of the enemies sometimes and I don't really understand how to control-survive, fits the theme nicely though

stefenism says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Yeah I was running out of time, but the general idea is that you have to look ahead of the fan blad and remember where the obstacles are. You just press space to switch tracks and hope you don't run into anything. Poorly executed though.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:33pm

This feels like the beginning of a really clever little game. I hope you finish the project even after LD is over!

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:24am

Well, I figured out the gameplay pretty quickly but... the shadows that obscure the bombs are a cool idea for difficulty, but in practice are frustrating (often spawn hidden with no way of know they are there). However, there's some good potential here - reminds me a bit of Super Hexagon-like twitch games.

heuermh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:12am

Not sure what's killing me most of the time, fun smashing on the space bar though.

Spelchan says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Needs work but has potential.

marnaouf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:50am

Interesting concept and pretty fun once you get the hang of it. Also, cool music.

DaveDobson says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:01am

I enjoyed the game and the idea. I seemed to keep hitting invisible enemies, which made the whole concept not work so well. But it was cool otherwise. Nice sounds, too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]