April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PHILIP KLAS

by neight - Jam Entry

You are Philip Klas. Use QWOP style controls to conduct your magnum opus. The Minimalism is in the musical composition, not in the number of references. Also potato.

Apologies for the long load time. It's the music. You'll love it!

The team:
-Programming: Nate Allen -- http://www.4firstnames.com/
-Programming: Casey Young
-Music: Fiat -- http://www.fiatmedia.com
--Jeff Benjamin
--Chaski Dye
--Alex Tate

This was our first time participating in Ludum Dare. Had a blast! Thanks everyone!

UPDATE 5-1-2013: Fiat has released a Making Of video for Philip KLAS! Check it out on YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=joaj8xtAEDQ

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.38
Coolness81%
#6Humor(Jam)4.08
#37Fun(Jam)3.69
#58Innovation(Jam)3.73
#73Mood(Jam)3.66
#93Overall(Jam)3.63
#198Graphics(Jam)3.51
#297Theme(Jam)3.20

Comments

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Really good music stuff inside !

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13pm

I had no idea what I was doing but it was still fun;D

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:15pm

WOOOOOAWWWWW oO Impressive artwork. I fall in love when the spudstep arrived !

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

First entry to make me laugh out loud. It's high time someone took down that damn Philip Glass via the medium of potato-themed one screen web games.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

This game is hilarious! Love the music and the style, it's a little chaotic but I realize that was part of the idea. Nice work!

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Are those chips! Felt like an art installation only enjoyable. Great work. Spud step needs to be a dance sensation.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Really awesome game, loved the music.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Hahaha, i love how music changed at the end. Control was a bit akward, but enjoyed it :)

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

So much fun!

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:10pm

a very artistic game :D

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:34pm

You, sir, have a dangerous obsession with the potato.
Really really cool. I wish the controls were mapped so that A and L controlled forearms, and K and A controlled upper arms instead though. But hell, dumb controls help the dumb game! 5 stars all round!

villhest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Whoah! So much awesome!

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

That dub step drop was so necessary. Kudos on the potatoes and fries.

Musicolor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

LULZ awesome

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44am

Played this with a massive grin on my face. Thank you to everyone involved - you are all wizards. :D

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21am

Man QWOP needs a soundtrack this good.

Aevek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:12am

Loved the audio, controls and gameplay were confusing at first, but awesome once I got the hang of it. Seriously cool.

Dyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

Hardcore controls and nice audio

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20pm

i have no idea what i'm doing

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:01pm

I don't know what was that. But making fries made me happy :)

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:46pm

The movement made me laugh. was simple and fun. Well done

Gremlin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:04am

Potato.

This is hilarious.

Time to Spudstep: 1:14
Distance Conducted: 1703
Lost Inspiration: 30

Beldarak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:06am

I don't know what I just did but it sure was awesome !

Jan Marcano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:56am

Really nice potato collage for the background! Hahaha. Spudstep was awesome as well.

I didn't really know what the hell I was doing but that didn't stop me from having fun. The KLAS controls are not something I can do xD

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54am

Spudstep. Klas. Awesome. This is weird, but really clever and fun. I kept getting my arms crossed, but I didn't care. Very funny.

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:02am

Wow really amazing, I will store this game for future reference. Not very minimalism though.

TheCze says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Awesome game. Fun 5/5

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Pretty freaky, I like it! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Wicked and weird... this one had some great stuff!

May 12, 2013 @ 7:31pm

I'm beginning to hate potatoes. They are not really cool ... :(

Xanjos says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:14am

Weird but fun game. Also lol spudstep.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:51pm

hahaha, fun entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]