April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

One Crate Sokoban In The Dark

by stqn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Push the orange crate to its proper location. For some reason you can only see the walls close to you.

The levels are randomly generated, and not particularly awesome. Sorry for that. But at least this game is minimal, right?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#498Theme3.59
#766Innovation2.86
#957Humor1.68
#1009Fun2.46
#1057Audio1.42
#1161Overall2.52
#1197Graphics2.13
#1231Mood1.83

Comments

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

Pretty simple game, but the inability to see far-away walls is interesting and the controls are responsive.

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

good controls and maps, nice and funny casual game

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I pushed the crate towards the green spot but nothing happened.

ZeroDivide says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Did I do something wrong, or is there no actual win condition?

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Not bad.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Haha, a minimalist take on the sokoban indeed. :D

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

The visibility square really makes it work.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Thanks for the kind comments :).
@Xgor, ZeroDivide: indeed, nothing happens when you win. (Well, there is a "WON" message in the javascript console…)

ThirteenWB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17pm

This is indeed minimal :p
I like how it actually forces you to explore a little before you begin pushing, unfortunately I'm not patient enough for this game...
Would be good to have an actual win message, although the javascript console is close enough :)

Nakato says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Cool simple game;) good job

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

it's minimalistic, it's playable, it's fun.. pretty cool!

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I like the exploring that becomes necessary to be able to figure out where to push the block to. Nice, but even after placing the crate on the green spot it doesn't trigger a new level or let me "win" the game..

spacechase0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Nice little game. :) Kinda wish it had sound though.

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

This is pretty fun :) I don't think I have played a puzzle game before that required scouting! Clever ^.^

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Thanks again to everyone. I'm trying your games ;).

@spacechase0: to be honest, after making most of the game on saturday, I spent sunday trying to find a way to make it fun and didn't think of adding sounds or a score or some kind of progression. I don't think Firefox 20 supports the WebAudio API yet anyway...

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

As far as games fitting themes go, this is very minimalstic :D I love sokoban one way of another, so i found it quite easy.

A win condition may have been nice.

Pabo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:40am

A very minimal entry indeed. I like the exploration aspect the short line of sight imposes in the player. The levels generated were mostly okay, even though some couldn't be completed. The "minimality" seems to be reflected even more in the gameplay than in the graphics - good idea.

Zim the Fox says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:38am

I'd like to point out that you didn't include the source which is /required/ for LD48, but since it is HTML5 you can inspect the elements on a browser.

I loved the game. Limiting your view makes it kinda unique and I loved the fact that you made a random level generator.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:41am

@Pabo: all levels *should* be completable! The generator is not guaranteed to find a "good" level though (meaning it's possible that the crate starts on top of the target, for example.)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:43am

I liked the minimal view and the randomly generated levels. The only thing it really needs is multiple boxes and goals.

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

@Zim the Fox: yes, I didn’t put a source link because the source is in the page. It would be the same link. Glad you liked the game! :)

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

@CloudiestNights: I experimented with multiple boxes (I wasted a few hours on that) but decided to keep only one, partly because of the theme. If you want you can increase the numOfCrates value in the source code; it should work.

dertom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Great game! And I didn't see any game (yet) that did fit more the theme than this one. Minimalistic gameplay-options, minimalistic graphic, but absolutely challenging by reducing the view, resulting in 100% fun. Very good job...

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Simple game. I was unable to load a new level in Chrome and couldn't even run it in Firefox. Could have really done with some sound and a win screen!

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:55am

Nice twist on a classic game. For random generated levels, they are pretty much playable. Sometimes they are very easy, but nice job on providing a level generator that generate valid entries. The only quick suggestion I'd make is to add a check to see if the orange square is over the green one to advance levels automatically. Other than that, a nice entry.

stqn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:26am

@pighead10: sorry about that, I have only used Firefox 20 to develop the game so at least Firefox should work!

Automatically generating a new level (and increasing a level/score counter) when the crate is on the target is a good idea, and adding a few sounds too... Maybe I'll work on that for a post-compo version :). I'd like to improve the generator too.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:50am

Hey, I forgot to thank you for commenting on my game! :3

stevejohnson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:18am

Well, it works! Would be nice if it would advance me to a new level automatically though.

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:57am

Nice title, the small field of view makes it really interesting.

rzfmzn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:11am

Evil programmer hahahah =O)
be nice to players
loved the idea! =OD
are maps randomly generated?

Tom 7 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:17am

Well, I guess I should have known what I was getting myself into from the title. :) I wish it at least had said something when I succeeded!

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:48am

I really like the concept behind this. My colourblindness is a hindrance, but not an insurmountable one. I may not be patient enough to explore the whole level before pushing the box. At least not more than once.

I am not currently in a very good patience to be talking about games requiring too much patience.

nseward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I loved it. In a way it was like my game. It would have been nice to be congratulated on my awesomeness when I won.

Ryusui says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:56am

The visibility range and procedurally-generated levels are neat features - this definitely should be fleshed out into a full game.

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Simple, and fun. But the generator can sometimes generate impossible levels. Also, maybe when the crate is at the green spot you should generate a new level?

plash says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Notes:

- Ooh, randomly generated.
- Are these all solvable? Seems so.
- Could've used cleaner visuals.
- Level generation is slow. Can I blame JavaScript?

Things I would change:

- Make the player visual cleaner. Smoothed, heavy black border?
- Add level completion transition. Generate new level asynchronously.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:58am

propaganda.pyongyang@gmail.com was here...
Good in-theme entry.

Misael.K says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:38am

Blind procedurally-generated Sokoban? I'm impressed. Good work!

MrShoestore says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:18am

I liked this a lot actually, but a level transition when you reach your goal would be really nice.

May 9, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Levels should change on their own, needs sound. Nice idea, however! :)

DkCub23 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:01am

I also think the levels should change on their own. It's a good concept, but I think it needs a little more.

JohnnySix says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:24am

Cool concept, but a more intelligent algorithm for creating playable levels would be cool - the lack of visibility makes it challenging enough, without creating impossible corners.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Simple and nice idea, just need the fancy polishing and you can make this one take off =)

ryuurei says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Had a nice feel as a puzzle game. I liked the idea of only being able to see so much of the map.
Having no music or sound effects really took away from the experience, and the lack of any response after accomplishing the goal was very anti-climactic. It was a nice idea, but could have used some polish.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]