April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

BubUp

by snowpato - Jam Entry

A simple (and minimalistic in concept) made in HTML5. You are a bubble which wants to get out of the glass, and you know that outside you will live ephimeral. So, you need to grow up if you want to be free before leaving the glass....

Gameplay: Left/Right Arrows to move.
Objective: Collect the green bubbles to grow-up.
Mission: Get to Lv5 before getting to the top.

Team:
Fuani_Chan (@fuani_chan): Graphics.
Snow (@snowpato, @snowcorpcl): Programming, FX.

Music: Popcorn & Sedatives, by solomen (http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/382471).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2059Coolness0%

Comments

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15pm

reminds me of osmos which is certainly a good thing!

foul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I have a suggestion: slower the speed when you are lv1 then speed up when gaining levels in order to ballance the difficulty of bubble collecting - i find it hard at first, then when you grow it become easier.. but somehow irreversable.

brookman32k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Nice idea. Played it sometimes but never got to level 5 XD

snowpato says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01am

@Ariake81: Thanks! It's really a good thing to have a reference to a game that i've never played before. That way i could take some ideas to improve the concept.

@foul: Thanks for the suggestion! I'll see if i can polish the game with some feedback.

@brookman32k: It took me a while to get the strategy to the game. Sometimes it's just luck, other times a good timing.

davidwparker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:00pm

I'm a bubble- ha!

lightsoda says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Pretty difficult to get to level 5, I enjoyed the style. I lose all sense of speed inside the glass though.

Yacodo says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:39am

Work great, but a bit slow (waiting. In fact I'm writing the comment waiting for the last two bubbles ^^)

kill0u says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:06am

Nice game. A little hard to get those green bubbles though =/

ohsqueezy says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Effervescent! I like that the map reminds me of an FPS but I'm collecting bubbles in a soda instead of murdering people. Nice idea for an ending, letting the user float out into the larger world.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]