April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Illumination

by VespaNetwork - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a short game. I think I did well for my first LD48; but I will leave that for you to decide. Programmed with HTML5 , CSS3 and Javascript. Run in a modern browser. Should run on all platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#476Innovation3.22
#638Graphics2.93
#979Audio1.88
#1019Mood2.38
#1027Overall2.70
#1075Theme2.93
#1179Fun2.19
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

The controls are a bit annoying and it moves way too slow

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

The controls are a bit annoying and it moves way too slow but this could work quite well with more work put into it. Good job!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:42pm

I like how the game looks and everything, but it seems really unresponsive and I couldn't figure out what to do.

MauMaGau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Good fun. As others have pointed out it is a bit slow, but that's a restriction from having to move in the dark; any faster and it'd be too hard.
Props for coding from scratch, +1 for using the center tag! =D

Joror says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I always like vision/fog of war mechanics, very cleanly done!

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47pm

It's a bit unresponsive and slow... Had some difficulty understanding how to advance in the game...

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Great job for your first LD! How do I unlock the lower door? I put the light on the thing!

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Liked the graphics. But I couldn't really get anywhere in the game...

VespaNetwork says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

@invaderJim That is a challenge.

VespaNetwork says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:52pm

For those that say it moves too slow, when you progress I think it is balanced at the right speed. For those with a lack of understanding that is part of the game.

loxo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I like the simple graphics and the interesting concept. It took me some time to understand how it works, even though you have all the necessary information in the screenshot.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Cool idea! Slowness of the character / gravity got a bit annoying after a while.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice game! That took quite a while until I found out what triggers the sensors. Now I feel stupid...
I think the main problem with the "slow" feeling of the controls is the lag between hitting the jump key and jumping. That should be instantaneous, but it seems like it waits until the sound is played. However, that was still good fun to play! Good job!

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:16am

Nice concept! :D

Megazell says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:20am

I love the idea and it's something that I will eventually play through but the movement and jumps have to be tweaked. Good job though.

MrShoestore says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:22pm

reminds me of a super retro version of Closure. I do agree with the others' slowness comments. you know what would be cool? if the webpage you put it on had a black background, that way you feel like a tiny guy in a massive world. just a thought. good first entry though.

davidwparker says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Neat concept. Wasn't sure how to get around (beyond arrows). It would be nice to move faster.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]