April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ramspace

by sigfig - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Confused Spaceman

Trapped inside a little box
Strange gadgets around the room seem to have no purpose at all.
There is no sound but the ticking clocks
and the engine's quite buzzing from back behind the wall.

The small window before him looks into the void.
the buttons and controls are blank and give no clues to their function.
But as he clicks and flips the panels and begins to grow annoyed,
the engine roars to life with a thunderous combustion.

The ship begins to twist and swing around like a spinning top.
The moving window shows an unknown landscape.
With a crash the craft comes to a screeching stop,
and slides along the surface with horrible scrape.

Through long hours of practice he becomes master of his ship.
And for all of the long while he curses its design.
When he is ready to travel far among the stars.
He's sick of that dumb shit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#57Mood3.81
#113Graphics3.88
#188Theme3.96
#411Innovation3.30
#498Audio2.79
#501Overall3.22
#1032Fun2.43
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

Nice graphics, I liked the style.

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

Still havent quite worked all of this out but I can easily see this being my favourite game of the compo. Love it

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43am

I quite liked it, never figured out the purpose or anything but I still liked it :3

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

I like it. It's minimalistic, and yet I am completely incapable of figuring out what to do. Nice graphics and more immersive than I expected.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:28am

^ i cant figure out what to do either (maybe there isnt anything heh.. really nice atmosphere and gfx .. dont know why but most unity things and games in general the sensitivity seems sooo high even on my lowest dpi (which i normally use all the time) anyhoot good job man :)

TheSheep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32am

I like the setting very much. Naturally reminds me of 2001: A Space Odyssey. And the idea is quite innovative. Nice!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:33am

RAMSPACE: A GAME ABOUT QUESTIONABLE CONTROL INTERFACES

Seriously though, maybe it's just the linux version, but the mouse and WASD are semi inverted.

Mouse up is up
Mouse down is down
Mouse left is right
Mouse right is left

W is backwards
S is forwards
A is strafe left
D is strafe right

I'm not sure if that was done on purpose, but it drove me nuts. Enough to push some buttons, and call it quits.

sigfig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:41am

Thank you everyone!
howieV: i'm using the default mouse input provided by unity. if it's too high, your OS sensitivity may be too high and your drivers are compensating somehow. try setting your OS cursor speed down!
josefnpat: you started the game with your camera upside down. it happens sometimes. moving the mouse vertically can right yourself. i left the camera unconstrained to manage the issue. i could never figure out why it happened to some people.

Cosine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Like the sound of it a lot, started it up, but couldn't really figure it out very well (compounded by the fact I was running on a very light computer.

jhonpi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I love the atmosphere and graphics. Maybe would help if the interactive elements (like buttons) have a mark or something to recognize them. I like the idea and good use of theme, really minimalistic. Well done!

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I did not understand the purpose of this game. But I stay more than 30 minutes in it... Good job !

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27pm

I just wiped a longer comment hitting the back button, so I'll be breif - atmosphere was good, sound design was nice, but the lack of feedback and some hint of what to do killed longevity of the game play and I bailed after 5 minutes of button pushing and watching the lights on the wall to see if something new happened.

Jens Nolte says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

I think the last paragraph of the description is a wonderful is a wonderful explanation how you feel once you have figured out how to fly around :D
It was an interesting experience, thank you!

sigfig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49pm

JohnnySix: confusion is intended :D the interface is a puzzle to be solved and it's ok if you didn't want to

glbs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Sorry I can't play your game, there's something in the camera movements that makes me feel I'm on a boat and I get sick (well is it a feature??). No worries it did the same to a friend with antichamber. Nice atmosphere though

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Atmospherical riddle game... never solved it... what do I have to do ;) If I put the Buttons in the right way will I have answers?

Hume says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:37pm

This game made me love it and hate it, probably not for the reasons you intended.

Supposing you figured out the ship flying controls within about 2 minutes. What then?

I wanted more, but I was pretty convinced there wasn't. Or maybe that was just another level of meta...obscuring the goals too, and not just the interface.

Almost loved it. Wanted to love it. Marks will reflect that. Humor points added for your poem.

sigfig says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:20pm

hume: there is more! the goals are indeed obscured but not impossible to decipher

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:04am

Very nice. Still have not figured it out. Keep trying.

DST says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Lovely experience ^_^

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:02pm

This could be interesting but based on the description it seems there is not much to do. The game starting fullsceen, using wasd (qwerty only) instead of the arrow keys, and grabing my mouse pointer thus preventing from doing anything else at the same time, was slightly annoying. Still, nice graphics and atmosphere and seems to suit the theme well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]