April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Agoraphobia

by PiotGuy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Agoraphobia is a reflexion game with square and stuff !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#65Innovation3.94
#416Theme3.67
#721Overall3.00
#843Fun2.67
#1135Graphics2.24
#1720Coolness30%

Comments

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Very interesting mechanic! I'll admit that I didn't really understand how the grey blocks grew and how to avoid them, so I wasn't able to make it past the third level. It seemed like after they grew for a while, they'd suddenly be somewhere else, but I never understood why or how I could use it to my advantage, unfortunately.

Jackamikaz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43pm

It's definitely innovative, however it's either too hard or has a long learning curve

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:47pm

extremely interesting, but it's not easy to understand and learn.

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55am

Neat concept. But I didn't understand how the gray boxes multiplied

TammiLion says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Fun! I made it to the yellow block using the purple teleporter. Was almost near the white block damnit haha. It reminds me of the Unblock me app. A lot of people here seem to try to understand the block mechanics, I don't. I just try to get there in a combination of steps. That's what makes it fun ^^

SneakySalmon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:21am

Really awesome gameplay and the movement sounds make it seem much more responsive and alive. Cool cool. :D

TenTonToon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:53am

Very interesting concept on paper, but kinda hard to get into. I see now where the comments are coming from: it's hard to plan a strategy when you can't seem to understand how the gameplay works. The gray blocks seem to move using random patterns, or at least those patterns aren't readily obvious. As a result, you end up playing the game almost as a button masher. And I don't think that's the way this game's supposed to be played :)

I liked the way you integrated the main gameplay mechanic to navigate the menus.

Keep it up!

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:34am

I couldn't quite figure out the patterns of the grey boxes. It was interesting trying to avoid them, at any rate.

wilbefast says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Very original - so much so that it feels somewhat random to begin with. The difficulty curve is nasty :o

EggDestroyer says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:48am

Looks interesting but I couldn't pass the second level as I didn't understand how the cubes behave. Not like it's easy to do in 48h tho :)

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I spent 20 minutes on your games with no clues about the way grey spawn. I was still able to go throught 10-12 levels but then I gave up frustrated by my numerous failures. Strange game but still somehow addictive :)

celiacjoe says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:54am

i love this game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]