April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time of Wheels

by Doccrazy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game of skill, a minimalistic hommage to the known and loved Wheel of Time (c).

Reach the end without biting the dust.


The engine is from an open source project of mine, but no content was taken from there.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#422Audio2.93
#444Humor2.40
#747Fun2.77
#905Overall2.84
#1010Innovation2.45
#1036Mood2.36
#1070Graphics2.33
#1092Theme2.90

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

loved it!

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

Hard but fun!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57am

A cute little game!
I want more :)

caranha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:31pm

That was a pretty hard game - the control scheme is a bit weird, maybe you should have used the mouse instead of left/right to turn?

Also the configuration settings menu was scary! You should hide that better :-D

Anyway, congratulations on your game!

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Hard... but possible. Love it!
Needed some time to find "L....D..." ;)

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:03pm

I really need to learn how to spell Ludum... :) Only 2 levels? I was ready to play more. I enjoyed it, I always liked this style of game, not sure it needed turning, would probably be just as hard(and more minimal) without it.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:37pm

why cant I dodge all these circles! :3

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Quite hard, a game of skill indeed. The controls took some time getting used to. Graphics are clean and simple.

Doccrazy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Thanks for your feedback, great you enjoyed it! I was quite sad I couldn't add more content, but there simply wasn't the time (where are you, modding scene? :D).

And for your own sake, stay away from the settings menu, it may cause severe brain damage (like the source code)!

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:50pm

So hard! And bloody!

ecool377 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

cool game

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

Controls are a little non-instinctive, but I like the puzzle in stage 2!

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:07am

Man, your game is so hard :(. Couldn't get past the first stage.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:41am

I read the comments and it spoiled the second puzzle for me :c

It was interesting~ Requires some time and some skill.

dalbinblue says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:41pm

This game is quite hard. The slow tank controls with fast hidden projectiles does make it a bit frustrating. It's definately in the category of die, learn, repeat gameplay, but a bit too much for me. As a specific suggestion, there is at least one place where you cannot outrun the projectiles in the level and dodge in time (at least to my knowledge), and a good twitch game should be able to complete without a single mistake.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]