April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Life

by Mickawesomesque - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is pretty much my first game ever (with AND without Unity), or at least the only one I've ever finished. So let's say I was pretty happy with the theme (even if coming up with an idea was REALLY HARD), because it allowed me to do something really simple.

So, here's my ([very] minimalist) game -so minimalist it may not even be a game. Enjoy~

For more informations: http://tmblr.co/Z-S-Jsk2vifU
https://twitter.com/mickawesomesque

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#198Theme3.94
#353Mood3.15
#756Humor1.96
#795Audio2.28
#878Innovation2.70
#1145Graphics2.22
#1243Overall2.36
#1313Fun1.72

Comments

Mnemusyne says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:08am

Strangely impacting, though interaction is very limited.

imagnity says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:44am

This would be nicer if you possibly increase the speed of movement.

IceCliff says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:14am

I was quite confused with what was going on :?

jijaweb says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:40am

Wow, the end was really interesting. It touched me in a strange way. Very limited though. Maybe more speed of movement?

harleylaurie says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Not bad :)

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Neat idea.

Apr 28, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Thanks everybody! :)

It seems the speed is a problem, so I changed it... but it might still be a little (REALLY) slow. It's just not the same if it you can go faster.
The idea (*my* idea) is that you have to go through the whole "journey" and, let's be frank, it's not a really big one! x)

As for the limited gameplay, well... I went for "minimalism". My interpretation is maybe too literal? In the first version, you could walk around almost freely and look wherever you wanted to, but this result is much more... emotional? Well, I guess it's up to you to decide about that!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:10pm

A poetic and symbolic game where the only controls are to move.

I'd say that makes this as good as Dear Esther. :)

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37am

I like the symbolism. Perhaps a little more interactivity, more to discover that you then forget.

Like the game!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13am

Yep, that's life. cool idea! :)

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:10am

Seems pretty...
•_•)
( •_•)>⌐■-■
(⌐■_■)
straight forward.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

That's supposed to be *puts on sunglasses* guy.

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

It's alright, nice touches with the audio but I'm not really feeling the depth that other commenters seem to have felt. It is a little poetic though, I grant you that. Keeps well to the theme.

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:25am

I can only go forward!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

Woah things just got deep, good job :D

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:45pm

I might simply be being dense, but I'm really not getting this. Seeing as there's only 4 different shapes in the game, I expected them too all have a meaning, but the sphere and cube don't really do anything for me. Are they there for a reason?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07pm

It's probably really abstract... sorry about that x)

I must admit I had this image of a platform leading to a big monolith, but then I started to add spheres (because it felt so empty...) and animations, to change one sphere to a cube... and one thing leading to another, I had this.

My initial idea was to symbolize life; not life as in "you're born, you do stuff and then you die", but moments. The cube is the symbol of physical things, knowledge or whatever, while the sphere symbolizes the feelings (you can hear heartbeats).

/!\ Spoilers(?) /!\

So here's my interpretation, knowing that you can totally see something else: when you play for the first time, the first sentence tells you what you can do, then you start walking and you get the message saying that you must leave, and then the one saying that you must forget. At the end, you're asked if you're ready (and you can only be ready xD), then you say you are and the title screen appears. You learn what the title is, and you can "press Enter to continue" and... if you do so, you start again at the beginning.
But, this time, you already know what you can do, and it can mean something else: "you have to move on". And you go through everything again, and again, and again... That's life.

So, after "playing" it, and reading that interpretation, I would totally understand if you hate it x)

RabbitRobot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:06pm

I'm quite confused. Is that all? :( I'd love to see more.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Oooookay, so I played and then read the interpretation, but I don't hate it. I wouldn't say that is it much of a "game", even though it has all the characteristics of a game, but it's awfully short. But maybe, just mayne, this "experience" is something we might remember when other "games" are long forgotten. I also liked the soundtrack... :)

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:55pm

I liked but didn't understand very well. I walked a little and game over? '-'

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Perfect for the theme but it's a little too limiting. Still you get the message through to the player quite well.

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:21pm

http://cdn.memegenerator.net/instances/400x/25011479.jpg

klianc09 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34pm

I'm not sure how I should rate this....

john_conder9 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

I see what you were getting at - and I like the concept. It reminds be a lot of "My Little Inferno" in that regard, but it really is lacking in the gameplay department and it's not very fun. I do think it's fairly well executed, I just wish there was more.

I really liked how the side objects got animated at the same time as the new messages. Lots of subliminal hints being played at here I think. If there was a category for "non-gamey games" I think I'd rate this better, or if there was more!

amodo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:04am

Favourite one!!!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Spoilers: I left everything and walked forward.

Gungnir says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:16am

I think the message could be a little more clear, just the title didn't really cut it for me.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]