April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Color Police

by ryuurei - 48 Hour Compo Entry

BUG NOTE:
- Controls get jammed up occasionally. The issue is typically resolved by simply pressing the key you want again, should holding it result in a jam.
- No score displayed when running Windows executable. This is due to some odditties in dealing with py2exe and pygame's default font. The quickest way to make it possible to create the executable was to simply remove the score display.

NEW:
The ompldr links I was using before seem to be failing people, so I've uploaded the whole package to dropbox. Just as before, windows users can run the main.exe file located in src/dist, and Linux/OSX users can just run the main.py file with python (provided you have pygame installed).
I've included a Windows executable.
Extract the rar's contents, navigate to src/dist and then run main.exe.

Written with Python 2.7, but should work with Python 2.6.X to 2.7.4. Makes use of the Pygame library.
Controls: Left, Right arrows to turn
Up arrow to move forwards
Space button to shoot
The objective is to shoot all the blocks that have the same color as the gem on the player's ship.
The score is proportional to the ratio of the time played in seconds to the number of blocks on the screen.
This game is designed with infinite gameplay in mind. You can't actually 'win'- or rather, as long as you're playing, you're always winning!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1255Overall2.33
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:02pm

I think you forgot to include an executable!

ryuurei says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

It's written in Python, so you just run the main.py file with `python main.py'

ryuurei says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

To make things more clear (should have written this before, it's my bad):
Change directories into the LudumDare26/src directory.
run `python main.py` to play the game.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

requires pygame library.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

Will you give out a compiled version? :)

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02pm

For those of us less tech savvy, a compiled version would be nice - the image is compelling enough to pique interest! :)

ryuurei says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:34am

I've added a new `windows` release. It basically has exactly what the source release has plus a dist directory containing a main.exe file that provides all dependencies (python and pygame) so it can be played automatically.
However, since this isn't like a native executable, and simply contains the whole Python interpreter, it's a substantially larger download.

May 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Some bugs, the ship doesn't spin properly, some times colored things don't seem to get hit, and when I finally managed to kill all of the correct color, nothing happened.

Plus for music/sound, minus for bugs/controls. And what's with the confusing background?

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I kind of didn't understand this game :c

Adipson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:59pm

fun ! it reminded me scramble in the 80s

May 2, 2013 @ 3:13am

Really interesting concept! I liked the music too but I couldn't figure out how to play very well.

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:29am

Pretty cool idea, although I found it hard to control. The scoring scheme is neat, and the music was great :)

ohsqueezy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Great music and atmosphere. I enjoyed making streams of bullets while rotating the ship.

Merkoth says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:06am

I can´t find the binary...

Cosmologicon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Neat idea but the performance is really bad for me. I timed it and it took 39 seconds to make a full rotation. My computer is pretty slow, but it should be able to handle the likes of this game.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:47pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Loved the music, but everything moved so slowly that I gave up after a while.

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:44pm

"Website is currently unreachable" :/ Too bad, your game looked nice!

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Can't download either. You should mention in the source link that it's in pygame, because when I saw "windows" I was ready to give up and go on with the next game; but PyGame I can run easily under Linux!

DST says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I liked the graphics, and controls works great too :)

stqn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Excellent music! Probably the best soundtrack of all 100+ LD26 games I tried. To play the game under Arch Linux I had to install python2-pygame instead of python-pygame. I played a bit shooting everywhere and stopped after a while for a lack of goal (and also the game had slowed down a lot.) With a score, faster-moving squares and the ability to lose it could make a fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]