April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pivot

by meat_popsicle - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's just a web page.
Confirmed to run in Chrome, probably FF also.
NO guarantee for IE. That shit sucks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#181Theme3.97
#296Innovation3.45
#479Overall3.24
#512Fun3.03
#890Graphics2.61
#949Humor1.69
#1036Mood2.36
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01am

Playable at http://ld26.blakeisrael.com/

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

Very minimalistic. Would have been great with a bit of sound.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03am

Pretty fun. I think you should have played to the fact that one match would cascade them all more.

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

@Suese - Totally Agree. Totally a lack of time management on my part. Just put on some dubstep in soundcloud instead :)

@Scott - All of the 8 levels can be completed in a single cascade :) The max score of the 8 levels made during the compo is 24. I *am* working on more levels, i'll post a link (separate from the compo link) with additional levels, at some future point.

Oh, one level requires two-moves to start the cascade, but finishes completes on the cascade generate from that.

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

Also thank you both for the wonderful constructive feedback!

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38am

For future adventurers, you can both NORMAL and RIGHT-click squares. They will perform OPPOSITE movements. :)

meat_popsicle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:39am

You might NEED to RIGHT-CLICK instead of NORMAL-CLICK to complete a level in a SINGLE move for GOLD (MAX of 3 points). :) :) :) :D

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45am

since you didn't provide any instructions I was a bit clueless at first, but after the first level "solved" itself I was amazed. sadly I seem to be to tired for this kind of game right now (I'll check back!) but the satisfaction from seeing a level getting solved is amazing

Crynix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23am

Wow, awesome. Really love the game.

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

Feels very polished, this is a fun little puzzle game :)

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56am

Works in FF. I didn't get the mechanics though, so couldn't complete later levels.

swizzcheez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Nicely imaginative.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:03pm

This is really interesting and fits the theme quite nicely!

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34am

Nice little puzzle game.

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:35am

Good puzzle game, it's cool when the chain reactions happen

henrykun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Very well thought game, for me this is one of the most difficult things, to create good puzzles, nice!.

Hamumu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

Very minimalistic! I will confess to not liking these sorts of puzzles very much, and yet I clicked on your game over the one that came before it in my list just because of the screenshot, so maybe I do. But I don't. They make me mad.

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Nice game. With a bit of work on graphics and some audio i could see this working well on ios/android.

Axelhein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very good! Could have used some instructions, but once i figured it out it was super fun! Very satisfying to trigger chain reactions with a single click. Super clever level design.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:09pm

I liked the concept, though I couldn't quite figure out what would cause the blocks to slide closer together after a match.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:09am

Can you explain the physics behind why and when cascades happen? The animation usually happens too quickly for me, so I haven't been able to figure it out.

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:10am

also, the two numbers at the bottom left -- what do they represent?

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Good concept. Would need more levels, and some sounds. Good job !

Docteur says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:17pm

Really innovative, gratz!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:46am

Very nice, very simple. In 3 tries I managed to max out at 23 points (apparently I did something wrong on the last level and missed a point, oh well). Nice game, I look forward to the future levels.

meat_popsicle says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:57am

@BrainSlugs - The numbers at the bottom are Level : Score

The general concept behind the cascading is this:
- When you match up two squares' yellow dots, the row or column those dots make will slide in toward the central point of the dots.
- Sliding by 1 square.

nimblegorilla says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Neat idea. I like the simplicity. Is there a way to restart a level if you get stuck?

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:31am

A little bit confusing at first, it turns out to be a pretty nice puzzle game. Maybe some work on sound and design would have been great!

May 11, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Nice little puzzle game. I like the rotating-pieces-puzzle-game-genre, and I like this entry. Congrats!

Lyonsbanner says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:27pm

15 points.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]