April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini-Malicious - when the bit bugs byte

by multitude - Jam Entry

You game dev all day long. But then at night the game bugs hunt you in your dreams. Get them in order and collect super points and deal with a snappy line from the boss.

Controls: Move your mouse over all the ones and zeros to find the win location.

RULES:
- Don NOT move you mouse over the boss or you loose
- a little black dot indicates the "win" position for each round. so if you want to move your mouse less, try to spot it
- the lower number is your high-score

EDIT: I made a new update (within the time limit of the jam!) that make the game easier, more enjoyable and adds 10 more funny voice lines from me - now you know when you are winning :) - enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#8Humor(Jam)4.05
#23Audio(Jam)3.99
#202Mood(Jam)3.16
#256Overall(Jam)3.17
#270Fun(Jam)2.89
#273Graphics(Jam)3.18
#306Innovation(Jam)2.85
#329Theme(Jam)3.14

Comments

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:30pm

The boss seems to get disturbed regardless of my interaction. Am I missing anything or is it timed?

TheColorMan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Awesome audio and good humor.

Hamumu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

It's definitely a minimal game! But I don't know how much I enjoy just sweeping over the screen until it says I win. The music is really good, and the explosion of 1's is a nice effect, I just think you need something more interesting to do.

larb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

This is brutal with a touchpad. Fun with a mouse. Nice work!

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Wow voice acting that's a nice touch. I did not understand how to win/lose though. But i enjoyed it any way. The music was very fitting.

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Short but very funny (yeah dancing letters!) with the hilarious audio part!!

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

@andrew - the boss get´s angry when you move with the mouse over him and also wakes up every 5 seconds to check if all the ones are in order ;)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

Best humor and mood so far!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Pretty neat game, I like the face. And it was pretty faced paced too which made it fun. Nicely done.

cadin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51am

Took me a few tries to figure out what I supposed to be doing, but then it was actually quite fun. It's harder to find that odd bit than it seems like it would be. I really liked the voice acting too. One of the few games that I can actually score in the Humor category.
Nice work!

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:55am

That was hilarious, it was funny to hear you say 'that's what you call a winner' or something like that xd. Nice music too.

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:09am

@Jelly - thx for reviewing my game on twitch! :)
@cadin - thank you! it was tons of fun to record the voice acting. came to me as a last minute idea
@vlad - hey, bro! i didn´t know you are on here too. going to rate your game right now :D

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Took me a few tries but a surprisingly fun game

brantkings says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Awesome game! I just continued many time because the voiced said so... It is fun, but hard. And my points are mostly the same because I never hover over the boss. Overall, cool! Oh and thanks for reviewing my game on Twitch.

Squeka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Amazing game! :D
I love how the combination of elements and theme fit perfectly! :D

Oh and at first, I was confused what to do in the game until I read the hint that I should find the black dot in the numbers xD.

I could only reach score 153893715 xD.

DustyStylus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Hahaha, I have no idea what I'm doing! :D

Thotor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Very nice audio ! Loves the humour

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:19pm

That was hilarious. Deceivingly difficult to :) Great job!

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Great game! And thanks for online video reviews!

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:49pm

This game was pretty fun! I like the original graphics and mood given by the audio, good job :D

lightsoda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54pm

A tad easy, I dig the style.

Richard Matey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

I loved that you did the spoken parts for the intro and reactions, really good fun and humor. Not sure the best strategy for the game but keep coming with cool games :)

mushbuh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:03pm

"YOU MADE IT HERE COMES THE NEXT ROUND" this is neat, kind of a boring premise though

Codexus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Simple but fun. Great voice acting :D

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Weird game

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Haha, this is the funniest game of all ludum dare! The voice acting really make it fun to keep playing. :)

MetroidMan347 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02pm

I thoroughly enjoyed this game. That is all.

TomboFry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Simple yet absolutely hilarious! The voice over adds a ton of humour to the game which I haven't yet seen in any other game I've played so far! :D

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Great game! We voted for it on Kongregate too! WOOOHOOOO

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Made me laugh, good quality sound. The game seems kind of pointless but I enjoyed it nonetheless!

mchaza says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Awesome!

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:21pm

ok so this is either way too simple or I just dont get it it. All you do is move the mouse over each number to win the level? Anyway nice work with the audio :)

KEFIR says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Looks like very fun and simple game, but it also looks like I am too stupid to figure out what to do.. Or maybe to tired, I'll try this again tomorrow.
Anyway - voice acting is grate and the humor is 5/5 - no doubt!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Great game, took me a couple of tries to finde out what I needed to do but after that is was very understandable.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:08am

Really cool game with great humor.
Awesome job!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:22am

Playing this game is like watching the Porygon episode from Pokemon. The audio is awesome, though.

TehSkull says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:11am

I liked this for the short time that I played it. I don't see myself going back to play it though. (Unless Kongregate somehow adds achievements. :P )

Ragzouken says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:48am

Amusing game :D The voice narration is great!

TijmenTio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Whaha so funny :)

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Nice concept, even if I didn't really get the background story :P
Got 27.040.520 points by the way o/

May 1, 2013 @ 5:27pm

This looks like it was a lot of fun to make :) It's also quite a bit fun to play, but I really don't see how it fits the theme. Also, waiting for The Boss to "wake up" once you find the dot really kills the pace. You should be able to click on the "bug" to wake The Boss up for bonus points and a different voice taunt.

Felix20 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Nice entry. The graphics were pretty good, and the voice acting was great. It took a little bit to figure out what I was doing, and after I did it got boring rather quickly.
It would be nice if the difficulty ramped up as you go along.

Also thanks for playing my game on your stream, I wasn't there when you played it but I watched afterwards.

tcstyle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Pretty confusing first, but simple after one figured out what's going on. Very solid presentation and sound.

onzephyr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:50am

Great humor and voice work.

dalbinblue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:27am

I was quite confused until I saw the extra clue about looking for the dot. Pretty crazy game with lots of style though.

YsenGrimm says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Self made sounds are best sounds :D

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:58pm

It's almost like a "stop the boss from gurning" competition. Love the way the boss's face comes to life.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]