April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalist Dungeon Crawler

by Cranky - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalist Dungeon Crawler
By Tolga "Cranky" Mizrak

Needs XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0 to run.

This is a simple dungeon crawler that is a mix between Zelda and The Binding of Isaac.

Resubmitted due to a typo in the title, forgot to add my name to the title screen. The old source is included for reference.

This was made using Visual Studio 2010 and XNA 4.0

Controls:

GamePad:
Left Thumbstick: Move
A: Attack

Keyboard:
WASD: Move
Space: Attack

Enjoy

Gameplay Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OgMy5N1REts

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#173Fun3.48
#275Overall3.46
#408Theme3.68
#423Graphics3.23
#612Humor2.16
#675Audio2.50
#802Mood2.63
#1120Innovation2.24

Comments

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

cool game, nostalgia'd

dvdking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:50pm

even size of game is minimalistic :)
it is fun, it's quite hardcore, i wish there were more hearts or aditional charachter lives... or something to make it easier
overall gameplay was fun

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Sadly crashes when I try to run it. No particularly useful information, just "do you want to send an error report to microsoft".

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57pm

When I discovered you could knock the projectiles back to those diglets, things got much easier :D

Very nice entry. Simple yet effective and fun.

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58pm

It's hard. I like Spectrum-ish graphics and sound. Very well done!

graytest says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I couldn't get it to run for some reason. No error. Just didn't start.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

The sound effects were a bit too loud and sharp for my ears.

After entering the 4th room I was swarmed by lots of enemies and died instantly, It was quite enjoyable up until then.

I really liked the animations and the extra touch of having shadows on the flying things which is easily forgotten.

As a whole; the game felt very polished and with more of a gradual learning curve it would be fun to play for a longer.

Good job!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Hard like a real crawler! Very good stuff

Cranky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27pm

For anyone experiencing crashed, please make sure you have XNA 4.0 installed. I forgot to mention that it was a prerequisite. So now I have included the redistributable in the download :)

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Hard and fun.

eShredder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57pm

This game was REALLY good. And hard, very hard.
The monotonic style looked really good. 5/5
The audio was suitable to the style. 5/5
Overall; The controls were nice, everything looked good. 5/5

Axelhein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Pretty fun. The dungeon generation worked really well and the combat was pretty fun. The game is VERY hard though. In a lot of the rooms there are almost too many enemies for me to handle. This is of course a personal taste thing, but I would have liked it to start easier and then gotten harder as I went along (it may do this already, but i think it's very hard from the beginning). Other than that, the game is pretty fun and seems very polished.

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Very nice randomly generated dungeons. Cool game, but the room with 9 slimes is basically impossible

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Nice game.

A lot of the rooms feel big and empty. The game would probably feel a lot tighter if you reduced the resolution.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I love everything about this game, even when I had 9 slimes and 2 bats on the first room :D Great job!

Felix20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31pm

This game is too good. I had to stop myself from playing before I wasted too much time.
The sounds are good, the art is good. The physics are spot on except one thing, the most annoying thing in the whole game.
The freakin bats don't bounce off you they just sit on your head and gnaw you to death and you can't hit them!!!!
Anyway, Awesome game, great job!
I wanted the attack powerup so bad, but kept getting the health powerup, if only the health powerup would heal you...

CappaGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

Enemies have too much HP for my tastes, but its a lot of fun either way.

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Bindings of Isaac, but way harder! I definitely like that!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Technically this was pretty nice. not so much a isaac fan though. but kudos for the game :)

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:47am

Pretty tough, maybe too tough? Sometimes/frequently the second room I enter has 9 slimes and 4 bats with nothing to hide behind D:
Good game, way to go on getting roguelike zelda in such a short time!

Merkoth says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:16am

Wow, very nice!

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:54am

nice game! thanks, i feld and looked so good

ddionisio says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:58am

Pretty cool! I realized the game randomizes after I tried again, that's neat. Might need to tweak some rooms to allow the player a little breathing room when they enter, that's how I died twice. :P

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Fun :P. Unfortunately the game slowed down occasionally for me, which led to my death twice :S. I got an attack powerup early on, which really helped me to get far :D

I liked the simplicity, but occasionally I'd swing in a direction that I thought was kind of odd.. Maybe a small radius around where you're swinging from might be good when attacking.

May 6, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Loved it. Very fun and great use of the theme.

May 20, 2013 @ 3:01am

Simple, to the point, was kind of addicting, and had fun with it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]