April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniCrawler

by Nezzhil - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game based in GameBoy style...

Require Java 7 & 64bits system. Sorry. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#464Graphics3.16
#756Audio2.37
#1022Theme3.00
#1091Overall2.63
#1141Fun2.26
#1233Innovation2.05
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07am

I forgot to upload yesterday... I worked solo for the compo and i forgot upload it... :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

The looseness of the collisions became very frustrating before long, but there was definitely some nice stuff in here. Particularly enjoyed the rolling boulder art.

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

the slidy movement didn't really work for me. it would almost be better as choppy. i like the gameboy visuals quite a bit, but the text/menus are kinda ugly.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:26pm

I gotta go with the others on this one. The controls really need tightening up.
Otherwise, music notwithstanding, it's proper.

spliter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Unfortunately can't play it.
Getting an "Could not find the main class com.nezzhil.ld48.minimalism.Main." error.
I'm on windows XP 32Bit, with latest java version installed.

skintkingle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I enjoyed this, but a lot held me back from rating higher, Jonathan Whiting brings up a good point. the collision was annoying the HELL out of me. Sorry, hope you develop it further though.

Nezzhil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Thanks for the comments! I'll fix the controls when the judging time ends. :)

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Decent game.
The things that held the game back were: Some text/menus looked a bit unprofessional, the character slides too much when moving, as opposed to the choppy movement in an actual gameboy game.

Other than that the game is okay. 3/5 overall.

Merkoth says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Kind of frustrating mostly because of the controls, but I like the Gameboy look

lorancou says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Waaaay to hard for me. And it seems that I can't fight back....

kddekadenz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Did not work for me (32bit Linux Mint 12).

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I like the gameboy style art and animation in this one. As the others have said the controls feel lose at the moment and you move too quickly. Maybe a longer cooldown between taking damage would help with the difficulty. Also could improve the random location jumping of the bad guys, I ended up stuck in one. A few small changes and polish would make a big difference. Overall I still enjoyed what I played. Well done.

Jim Haslett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:21am

I agree with the comments on the controls. Why do the enemy attacks go through walls? Why can't I attack, I obviously have a sword.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:40pm

I don't have Java installed. Sorry :(

May 7, 2013 @ 4:47pm

It worked on my Win XP 32-bit laptop though you said it's just for 64-bit systems. :) Sweet retro graphics!

Spiridios says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:34am

As others have said, the controls seem a bit floaty. Also, I couldn't figure out how to attack. But there seems to be a good game behind that annoyance.

cardboard says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:21am

I enjoyed it, but it did become a little frustrating after awhile. I found that I couldn't see enough of the screen at once to be able to avoid the spikes unless I moved slowly. For the boulder level, I would let the boulder hit me at the start of the level so that it would pass me and I wouldn't have to dodge spikes with it after me. Also, the collision was a bit confusing. Other than those things, the game was cool. I like the GameBoy graphics and the music was pretty cool too (although a bit short).

May 20, 2013 @ 4:58am

I liked the style, I liked the concept, but it was dragged down in my opinion by the 'life' system (not the health, just die a certain amount of times and restart) and the way too big hitbox on every object. Still, enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]