April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The March

by TeeDoubleU - Jam Entry

The March, a minimalistic game about potatoes.

Didn't really managed to finish this late compo entry. If you like the idea please give a comment and I might just sit down over this and make a proper game.

Don't worry, its still playable as it is. Enjoy:D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#96Graphics(Jam)3.88
#162Humor(Jam)2.63
#231Mood(Jam)3.08
#273Innovation(Jam)2.96
#274Theme(Jam)3.24
#288Overall(Jam)3.08
#324Fun(Jam)2.76
#391Audio(Jam)2.21
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Nice pixel art!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Very nice game, I think you used the theme almost perfectly. The situation was a bit humorous, too. :D Art was great and gameplay was very fun. Maybe you could have made more kind of enemies. Audio was okay but there was no music.
I think potatoes are proud to be mentioned in your game.

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Cool! I like the snow ambient!
And the pixel art is awesome!

pirate-rob says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56pm

This was very fun! I was so mad when my guns misfired (I think they were misfiring?) This was quite good. How do I control a specific soldier?

Welcome to death! https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/89270405/Untitled2.png

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Every game that mentions potatoes is a win! :D

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Love the art!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:48pm

The graphics are awesome, reminds me to something but I don't really know what. Gameplay is also quite original and keeps you playing.

Destroyer40k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:26pm

This has got to be my favorite game I've seen thus far. The only problem with this is that I'm confused how the left mouse button affects the movement as they move as a group. Well, I found just staying still and firing was fun enough :)

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:44pm

A bit confused with the controls, they seemed to feel slightly unresponsive. Liked the shooting though, overall solid entry. :)

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:40pm

The screenshot looks super nice, but I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Binary Gambit says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Crashes for me every time on win7 64 after the cut scene at the start.

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:28am

The shooting in this game was quite satisfying. I really liked the art and the smoke and blood effects. However the controls were a bit confusing. It seemed that I was only able to reliably move one soldier at a time. Regardless, great entry!

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Wonderful mood and great art. The pacing makes it a nail-biter!

mtrc says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:43pm

The theme is beautiful, although the gameplay was a bit tricky. Would like to see it developed further though!

May 12, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Unfortunately I can't rate the game since it's a windows entry.

dalbinblue says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:58am

The game has a nice atmosphere and story, but unfortunately i'm a bit confused by the controls; left clicking seems to move a random soldier each time, and the guns never seem to hit anyone (I only had the first shot in the game work). When I clicked an actual soldier, it moved that soldier in the opposite direction as I wanted, and if I clicked the location I wanted them to go to, they all stood still.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:47am

nothing better than pixel muskets -- great job!

May 13, 2013 @ 7:42am

The art in this, especially the pixel smoke, was fantastic. Very dreary atmosphere, which fits perfectly with the setting and mechanic.
That said, the gameplay has issues, although I love the idea behind it. Allowing the player to clearly select a unit and move it individually, and making this process more responsive, would help a great deal. There's definitely some potential in the strategy behind knowing when to move, when to take a shot, how long it'll take a soldier to reload, etc. Great stuff.

chrismcr says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Great pixels!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]