April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Crescendo

by SneakySalmon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Probably a good idea to read the instructions before playing, but each to their own. Don't have too much fun now! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#259Audio3.20
#306Humor2.64
#470Graphics3.15
#532Overall3.19
#610Fun2.93
#621Innovation3.04
#862Mood2.58
#1006Theme3.04
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:33am

Very cool, love the violin in the background

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Quite fun, very well done!
One small gripe is when the ball keeps moving when you are trying to place the blocks.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:55pm

good game, I like it =)

May 2, 2013 @ 3:38pm

I liked the graphical finish a lot, and the audio was really calming. Nice concept! Good job on the particle system as well, it was really neat. ~

Proch says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:39pm

excellent

Coruon says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:21am

Good game :) I didn't like that the ball moved as you placed blocks, perhaps right click could be used for placing blocks so it doesn't affect the ball? Otherwise, cool game and fun to play.

Jim Haslett says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:12am

Good game. The controls were awkward. The ball moved while trying to place blocks. Perhaps W-A-D or Arrow keys to move the ball would have been a bit more natural.

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:22am

Controls made me want to kill innocent children and boil their eyeballs.

Excellent game though.

kurrik says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:53am

Nice mechanic and I like that you gave a tutorial. Also one of the few submissions with a sense of humor. A bit of the finesse of getting around was lost on me with my trackpad, I think having a separate jump button would've actually improved things. Overall, a promising physics puzzler though - I had fun working through it!

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:57am

I agree with the problem of the controls. Also it's frustrating to reset to level when you misplace a green block.

lasergans says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Very solid game. Good work.

wolf says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:46am

Cool concept. Reminds me a little bit of my entry :) Only quirk is the controls and when placing objects it makes the avatar move at the same time resulting in it falling off ledges unexpectedly.

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Took a really long time to download.
Aaand...
./crescendo: error while loading shared libraries: libgconf-2.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
(Linux version)

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Forgot to say I'm using Arch Linux 64 bit, and there is no 32 bit libgconf available in the repos.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]