April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tendril

by Greg Power - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A one-button navigational quest for connection.

A study of snow-pea tendrils.

A meditation on snake charming.

(Whichever you'd prefer.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#5Innovation4.40
#13Theme4.42
#23Overall4.06
#42Fun3.84
#45Audio3.86
#71Mood3.76
#433Graphics3.21
#756Humor1.96

Comments

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:27am

I really enjoyed the concept. It is very addictive and very original. Moreover the use of sounds is very interesting. Great idea :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:35am

The slow transitions between levels and after you die gets pretty tiresome after a while. Other than that this is awesome :D

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

Fantastic concept and execution, really feels like it'd fit in with the cool ambient games.

I like the pace, but I was playing it with fairly chilled music playing, so I imagine if you had a little more time it'd be a killer (and great time-passing-mechanism on mobile platforms)

Colorvade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49am

I liked it. I found the tendril reversing in direction at every step to be a little annoying as it made making curves a lot slower than it needed to be, but overall the game's simple and effective.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08am

This was a very enjoyable game once I learned how to play it. It does a great job with the theme as an extremely minimalist game, but takes those mechanics and does a lot with it. I think one of the things that really made this game stick out was all of the levels you were able to make, which gave it a lot of gameplay time. The graphics and sound were very simple, but fitting for the style (though the wall color was a bit grating). Ending the level was rewarding too, to get to see the tendril you made break up into sounds. The only real criticism I have is that the difficulty is a bit haphazard. There was one level near the middle shaped like a sideways S with boxy rooms and narrow corridors, which was easily the hardest level. Then right after that there were a bunch of levels with straight passages to the end. So far, this is the best game I've played in the competition, despite its deceivingly simple look and premise. There's enough skill and finesse involved in playing for it to feel like a challenge, but it's generally not so hard as to be frustrating, and ends up with a pretty good balance.

Greg Power says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

Thanks for the feedback, folks!

The slow transitions are intentional - I was aiming for a certain pace and feel. I can totally see how it would be annoying though (especially after many deaths) so I'll look into shaving off some milliseconds.

My biggest problem with this game (and other before it) is pacing difficulty. I can make tough levels, and I can make easy ones, but transitioning between them is tricky. With more experience and play-testing, I'll hopefully get better at it.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51am

I love the use of minimalism. It fits the theme perfectly.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41am

One of my favorites so far.

MathiO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

This is just my type of game. The aesthetics, simple mechanics, and often challenging levels remind me very much of Flywrench, which can only be a good thing. I can't seem to get past a certain level but I know I will be able to later....and just as I was typing this tried again and got it!

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I love the concept, and I really liked the way sounds were used. Very nice interpretation of the theme and a generally enjoyable game.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

The concept is great and the progression you give through the levels is really nice. Very good concept you have here.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Very neat! I wasn't able to pick up on what determined the duration of each note in the victory lap. Beautiful little emergent tunes.

FenLudum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

Excellent use of theme plus the I love the game itself.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:03am

What an original mechanic - good job!

RobKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:05am

Good idea, innovation and theme were very well executed

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06am

Very nice concept and nice sounds ! Really relaxing and enjoying.

muton says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:22am

Excellent! Totally on-theme, interesting idea and fun to play.

Ditto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Love it!

SamoojaMies says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:33am

Most fun game so far. You nailed the theme.

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:05pm

With a bit more of work could be a great mobile game. Great idea and level design.

Aaants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Nice idea and really well executed. Congrats!

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Brilliant game. Really original, addictive and fun, I absolutely love it.

Ragzouken says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:34pm

I love the audio. I love that spamming the controls makes an interesting sound and makes it look like a smooth vine. I love that it feels like you are really a vine trying to feel around and grow through a gap towards the light.

Norgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Beautifully put together game with the sounds, mechanics and graphics all combining smoothly. There was one level in the middle which was much harder than those around it which made the pacing feel slightly off, but that doesn't really detract that much from the game being awesome.

paulmcgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:54pm

One of my absolute favourites, full marks. I love the pace. Excellent sound, strong visuals and a clever concept done justice. Well done. :)

May 3, 2013 @ 2:01am

I was wondering where the skill/challenge was then I got to the first level with the small pink box :) Clever mechanic and game. Develop it further.

Jod says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:41pm

This kept me busy for quite a while! Never since my first driving lesson have I had so much trouble making corners.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Nicely polished game. And really hard :P
The sound is brilliantly integrated in the game.

Fadobo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:07am

Starts off a bit slow and a bit "meh" and then I figured out how to go somewhat straight and it suddenly became really awesome. Love the sounds.

zkenshin says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Great use of sound, and very innovative. A bit too challenging for me after a few levels, but well done. :)

simrob says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:36am

The best use of a minimal interaction mechanic to create beautiful and interesting gameplay that I have seen in this computation. Audio was beautiful.

May 12, 2013 @ 2:26am

One of my favorites thus far! I really like the slow transitions and sound design, and the mechanic is actually very cool! If I had to nitpick, it did feel like the difficulty of the levels was sort of sporadic. There'd be one I'd fail a dozen times, followed by several straight I would get on the first try. It's possible I was just getting better though.

Anyway, great work!

Sylvain says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:14pm

It's hard, but it's a very cool concept. And the sound is really good.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]