April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Embers

by DramaticRarity - Jam Entry

Embers is a game about an alien who crash lands on a strange planet and find that he becomes more and more like the natives as his gadgets break.

Each level has fewer game mechanics and art/music assests than the last until, finally, the ability to finish the level disappears too.

Use wasd or the arrow keys to move and the mouse to aim and shoot. Press 'r' to respawn.

Thanks for playing - the team.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#287Graphics(Jam)3.13
#288Audio(Jam)2.87
#505Fun(Jam)2.13
#516Innovation(Jam)2.00
#518Theme(Jam)2.33
#549Overall(Jam)2.13
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Really like the art and the concept! Nicely done! (PS Rarity is best pony.)

Dyn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26am

Music is cool but started to play only after I died a few times. Maybe because when game started I opened another tab.

Nice art also

AaronYip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:51am

Unity first loaded to a screen that flickered and looked cut up/broken, then refreshing the page loaded it better. The backgrounds seem spliced together and then eventually run out to a blue screen... not sure whether this was intentional or just me. :\

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:53am

Nice graphics, this has potential.

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:04am

I really wanted to enjoy this game, but it was difficult to because of how buggy it was. The death transition warping was kinda wonky, and took me about 2 deaths to realize I was actually being warped back to the beginning because I died. Everything kills you in one hit, and I believe my shots kept acting like they were stuck in the wall after falling down the right side of the first waterfall gap. The graphics looked pleasing in a sense, but the rendering made them look kinda JPEG-ish, which is the last thing you want when using pixel art graphics. The music was pleasing to listen to, but it didn't play until I refreshed the page for some reason. Overall, this has potential, but has quite a bit of work to go for if you intend on polishing this.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Music was awesome! Really can't rate the rest, because it just completely glitched out with colors all over the place and even the Unity logo broken. If that was your intention: Awesome! :D

joe40001 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:53am

Liked the idea, but the execution was a bit buggy. Really liked the use of stripping the song with the skills but could have benefitted from a bit more polish. Still very cool.

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:17am

Visually very cool, but I seemed to be jumping around to different levels? It seemed like you were working toward something bigger than you had time for.

itsZN says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Nice art, but I don't feel it fits the theme, and the cut to blue is to sharp if that was intentional.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]