April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

dodge the atom

by pikkufighter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

first ludum dare and first flash game to :P
please comment if you find any bugs in it and sorry for no music and no source. now the text is better. And try to play to 500 before you comment that it's to easy.

did you find the easter egg?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#1060Fun2.39
#1089Graphics2.31
#1158Theme2.77
#1220Mood1.89
#1268Overall2.29
#1311Innovation1.79

Comments

pikkufighter says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 3:10pm

srry for not working link here is the updated that works:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/pikkufighter/dodge-the-atom

caasi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

You can edit your entry.
BTW, dont forget the src.

pikkufighter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25am

there we go the source is now available. it took a little longer since i have never done it before

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:19am

Seemed really easy, but for a first time it's understandable, keep trying at it man!

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:25am

The game worked nicely but I was left yearning for the game to become more challenging faster. Things like having another atoms spawn would've been nice too, but I guess it's more minimalistic like this. A background story of why the boy is picking up the atoms could've spiced the game up. Overall the idea works and is fun once you get over the boring beginning when the atom moves slowly.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:27am

Good game, you should have added more atoms to increase the difficulty :)

pikkufighter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12am

i tried to make it add more atoms at first but i was running out of time so that was a "shortcut". and i don't really know why he is collection the atoms i never really thought of a background story.

LoneStranger says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:21am

Interesting, but gets kind of monotonous. The speed of the atom needs to ramp up a little faster. Perhaps other behaviors other than bouncing would also make it more interesting.

pikkufighter says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:11pm

ye i know i maybe should have it to start at a higher speed and only increase with 25%. I had also made so the atom spawned att random places but i got a bug with it and didn't have time to fix it

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nice, smooth controls and an awesome retro arcade feel :D I'd love to see more enemy types and maybe something to fight back with? Good job!

pikkufighter says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:06am

maybe but i don't think it's any fightback in this game

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:53am

After 500 points it got quite fast and I jumped into the flying atom at 600. I liked the movement and jump with air control. Well done for a first minimalistic game :-)
PS: I found and clicked the potato button but nothing happened I think

pikkufighter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:53am

you need to collect one more for it to appear and if you click it again it will deactivate

alts says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:13am

Congratulations on your first Ludum Dare entry.

The game is rather simple, but controls quite well. That's often the downfall for game like these developed in a short period of time. Something to consider without adding more things to the game (in conflict with the minimalist theme), would be to increase difficulty more rapidly. Either by increasing the atom speed (as already occurs), or by "minimizing" other features, such as shortening platform sizes, or worsening speed/jump abilities. Something to inspire a sense of challenge in the player.

baldwinthree says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:31am

Very smooth and quick game. Every time I got cocky, I jumped into the atom because I thought it was moving slower. Nice game!

mikeware says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:43am

The platforming aspects seem to be pretty spot on. The jump and movement felt really good. It just took me collecting 10 atoms to realize the atom I was dodging was moving faster. I think if instead of increasing speed, you just added another atom to dodge every time you collected an atom it would get crazy enough quick enough and you'd feel that arcade pressure.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Congrats for finishing your game! Keep it up!

mortus says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:34am

Very nice little game, but faaaar too easy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]