April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal: The Tiny Beast with the Big Hunger

by Pat Hemphill - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Runs in Flash 10.3. Uses the Flixel Framework. Graphics made in Paint.Net. Sound made with BXFR. Musics made in Famitracker.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#322Humor2.62
#801Audio2.27
#1019Mood2.38
#1126Graphics2.26
#1143Theme2.82
#1222Fun2.09
#1276Innovation1.94
#1281Overall2.26

Comments

Casino Jack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

I could use a few instructions - I think I killed the giant fly, but I'm not quite sure!

Dew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04am

Minimal huh?

Loved the wolf at the end!

wolfadex says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

I think it would help to have an attack animation for your character. Also, it's hard to tell if either character is being hit. I like the concept though.

foxor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21am

I wish there was some sort of tactics with how you fight the fly, like come down on his head or something. Solid game though!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28am

This was very surreal!

Pat Hemphill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39am

I really should have done more to differentiate between the win/fail states, because it isn't obvious unless you get both. Also, the move animation overrides the (probably too short) attack animation. Thanks for the feedback and ratings!

Alex Rose says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

I really enjoy the direction you went with this - we appear to have very similar meanings of the word "minimal". Nice one.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:22am

It was a bit confusing. I wasn't sure if I was winning or losing. Might help to add a health meter or something. Good game, though.

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I really thought the blood effect was cool! Like others have mentioned, it would have been nice to have attacks be more apparent. Cool game!

DBRalir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Took me a minute to figure out how to play, but it's a nice game. I really like the blood effect. I kind of wish there was some build-up to the fight, though.
(Unrelated: I believe I fixed that shader error in my game, if you want to check it out.)

patrickward says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:18am

The fly was kind of freaking me out; between it's size and the haunting sound it made. Nightmarish! Great job on the overall atmosphere.

May 2, 2013 @ 6:55am

I killed the fly. Wasn't really sure what was going on. Keep going and adding to it. Suggestions: less floaty jump (have the jump be about .7 secs from jump to land) and at least put up some text with the goal. I think you could do more with the theme vs a wolf attacking a giant fly which makes little sense? Pick any other 2 animals or some setup that makes more logical sense? A cat jumping to get birds, or whatever.

Boiúna says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Fits the theme well. The sound are very good.

sudorossy says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Interesting concept, but the gameplay wasn't too great. Quite difficult to figure out how to hit the fly, or if the fly hit you. And the animations looked somewhat off.

May 4, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Could have done with some attack animation for clarity (but then, it is a minimalist game), and like some other players, I got to the end and wasn't sure whether I'd won or lost. Other than that, it's OK. The graphics are atmospheric, and I like how you actually made the characters look wounded, though the blood itself was a bit simplistic. I wasn't very fond of the sound effect, but the music has a nice retro vibe.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]