April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Friendly Zombies

by druckson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game involves hordes of zombies just looking for some human contact. Though they don't mean to harm you, their gestures of friendliness may prove harmful to your goal of finding the green square. You can become invisible to the zombies, but only for 10 seconds per round.

Controls: WASD + mouse, spacebar to temporarily turn invisible.
Goal: Find the green square

**Important Note**
I didn't add a respawn key, which is needed for this game. If you find the need to restart the level, just refresh your browser. You can play the levels in any order you like.

Requires WebGL capable browser.
Tested on Chrome and Firefox for Mac OS and Windows.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#118Humor3.29
#560Innovation3.12
#797Fun2.72
#872Mood2.57
#873Overall2.88
#1080Graphics2.32
#1230Theme2.64
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

eteeski says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:50am

great idea. this could be really fun if there were more objectives.

FunByJohn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:10am

This is awesome, I was laughing the entire time at these super friendly zombies pushing me around XD it sounds strange, but one of my favourite things about this is the shape of the player's body; the way rotating yourself can sometimes give you that extra little decrease in size that lets you slip past the friendly zombies. The mood was awesome, and this is the only game so far I've given 5/5 stars for humor.

Not sure how it ties into the minimalism theme though? The graphics were sorta minimal I guess, but I'm not really sure what your thought processes were here :S

Either way, fun game man, good job :D

druckson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36am

There were quite a few things I didn't get to, I'll probably work on it some more once the compo is over. I was going for minimalism in mechanics, as the game essentially just involves motion.

GetFun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:57am

this is so fun hahahah

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Cool game with friendly zombies :)
It is a very simple and good game idea with nice implementation of crowd behavior.

docix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I like the idea, although the mouse rotation thing was a bit odd to me. Not exactly sure what you were going for there. But I love the concept, seeing this completed could be a hilarious puzzle game. Nice work!

May 1, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Nice idea. Gives a very suffocating feeling!

Oleg Zhurko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Friendly zombies eat potatoes!

Qaterknan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Pretty entertaining. Friendly zombies are good and funny idea but I can't figure out if it fits the theme. Good work though.

AlexFili says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:09pm

I can see what you were trying to do, but it's not quite as fun as I thought it would be. It's a too basic but also the zombies are too smart and can see through your invisibility too fast.

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:45am

Awesome real-time zombie problem solving action!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]