April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TATERUSH

by nicotuason - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Destroy all the Minimalists with an underground Potato legion

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#5Humor4.20
#348Graphics3.34
#455Mood3.00
#471Overall3.25
#485Fun3.06
#680Theme3.41
#707Innovation2.94

Comments

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

Lol, cool. Potatoes.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:09am

Lol, cool. Potatoes. This would be sweet with sounds.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

clever use of minimalism.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Whoops, posted twice, this post too, oh no triple post oh god help.

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Seems you really like potato! The giant potato made me laugh.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:14am

I was thinking "wow another stupid potato game" but then I played it and the gameplay was actually pretty interesting. Good job.

Andy West says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:15am

Funny and weird! Not a lot of replay value, though.

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

=)

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

Stay strong, spud-brother. I only wish I had the balls to do something similar in my game.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

This game pretty much expresses the mood of most of the people who were waiting for the theme to be announced.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34am

My feelings about LD26 in game form.

Logun says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:25am

That storyline ! :D I love ludumdare for that kind of game ! A bit too long maybe, but I destroyed them all anyway !

zinfandel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:42am

Hahah had me laughing right at the start. Go Potatoes!
I think it's too difficult though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Ha, this is fun.

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Funny! Not all the dynamics are instantly clear but it's a fun game!

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Funny funny :)
A bit long maybe

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Wasn't really sure how to play, I just kinda clicked about. I think I was the potato team? Still, taters!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:11pm

The opening cinematic was brilliant. I liked the graphics.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:47am

I absolutely loved the opening. Though, aren't the potatoes being minimalists by trying to remove all the buildings? Very funny, good work.

thenmal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:09am

Thank you for making this.

Tater_hater says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:43am

While I can'trate theme very high, i LOVED tearing apart minimalism with taters!

metalcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Sweet game, I played it all the way through. Didn't the Russians try this once, but ended up with vodka? Shame there is no sound, I would have liked to hear what a potato sounds like.

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:38am

Surprisingly fun game.

JohnnySix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:52am

Megapotato owns - really loved the dynamics - encouraging some clever tactics. Decided piling all the potatos at one point allowed the bonus refil on conquering a building to allow you to mass even MORE taters at the spot, creating an unstoppable force. :D

Benjamin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:33pm

This was not very minimalist : There was way too much flames, you should know that there's no oxygen in minimal space, so no flames/explosion. Or maybe 4 pixels explosions but they must disappear without alpha fade or blink, and avoid any uncessary sinusoidal moves. And also those squares from the intro had a gradient in them which is rather unrealistic for minimal squares.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]