April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Too Minimal?

by AnTiCamPr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare and second attempt at making any game. The entire thing is written in Java. You play a really simple never ending impossible game/runner style game that continually increases in difficulty.

-Right+Left arrow to move, Space to jump
-collect stars for points
-The terrain is generated randomly with possibly taller stuctures as difficulty increases(jump height also increases with difficulty)
-All sounds were created with SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#198Theme3.94
#485Fun3.06
#711Audio2.44
#1009Graphics2.44
#1056Overall2.67
#1225Innovation2.06
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Too minimal? nah... Not a lot there, but what is there seems to be solid. Not bad for a second game ever.

mtrc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Totally fun! I agree with Jarcas. Great effort, loved the jumping and wireframe art.

Canobie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:04pm

JUMP Jump jump

Jools64 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Great for a second attempt at a game ever. I liked the art, it fit the theme well and looked fairly unique.

The game-play was not bad but I found I could pretty much stay alive just by holding right and mashing the jump key. Maybe obstetrical in the air too would have helped.

None the less, good job!

stqn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Maybe it’s just a temporary thing but the download fails. "Bad gateway".

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Getting a 502 bad gateway. Try putting it on dropbox.

Salamander3 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:25pm

Wanted to play, but link is producing a bad gateway/502. :(

TheBenjaneer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Same as above :( I can't download it.

AnTiCamPr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Sorry about that, new links are up :D

matter123 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45pm

nice, great game got to red, but the constant jumping sound was a little annoying

ps3master72 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:00am

not bad for a second game

wolfadex says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:15am

A lot of fun. Hard to gauge where things were going to be with the stars moving at a different speed than the blocks.

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:58am

nice game! =) good job!

ZYXer says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:09am

Nice game, true to the theme :D
(Pro tip: put weights on you right arrow key and the space bar and go do something else -> endless points, yay xD)

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:06am

When you make an archive please include one single top-level directory, not a bunch of files, so extracting it does not put files everywhere :).

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:14am

Well made but just keeping right and space pressed lets you go on forever (?). The game pauses a couple seconds from time to time, is this caused by garbage collection?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]