April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shadows

by jayemjee - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My very first ever Ludum Dare entry: a game about moving light through rooms. Made in Game Maker 8.1. It could have been better, but I certainly learned a lot, so I count it a success!

Time lapse here: http://youtu.be/WfRoJyCSUZ8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#163Mood3.46
#428Audio2.92
#476Innovation3.22
#547Graphics3.04
#632Theme3.46
#778Overall2.96
#922Fun2.59
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

I love the aesthetics and the text system. The gameplay is well-crafted too. Good job!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:17pm

like the mood and gfx.. i couldnt get very far tho.. i think its just because im an eejit :)

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

I cannot get past the "the world will thank you" level. I just don't know what I am supposed to do.

I do really like the visuals, and I think the mechanic is very cool.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Ooooh this is very nice, great mood surrounding the feeling of the game! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Nice idea and great art style. I found the actual gameplay mechanic pretty confusing. Maybe you could add more of an explanation here? What I didn't really understand was why blocks sometimes were destroyed and sometimes were not.

jayemjee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:52am

@Lucas Tiridath: If there was anything that I feel the game is lacking, whether due to time constraints, lack of experience, or whatever, it's training. The game doesn't do a very good job of teaching you how it works. I put levels in with the intention of teaching the play how to play, but it throws too much at you too fast. It should have been spread out more.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:28am

cool idea for a game -- had a lot of fun -- nice effort

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:35am

I really like the mood and music, but I feel confusing.

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:11am

Like others, I found the game play a bit confusing. However, I loved the simple contrast of dark and light. Also, nice death effect :)

Rose says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:16am

This is a really interesting game. It looks nice and you got some pretty good music out of audio-tracker! (If you didn't use audio-tracker, forgive me.) I got through a few levels but still don't understand the mechanics - but I'd love to play again once you have a better instructions/training.

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:12am

Very nice, liked the B&W art. The idea to let light flow through levels is very good.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:32pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Spelchan says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:34pm

As others have already mentioned, better instructions or tutorial is needed.

chrismcr says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Took me a while to get it, but it was worth it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]