April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tri-Forever

by TaleLore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tri-Forever is a game in which you try to survive for as long as possible without being sucked into the outer edges.

Enemies will try to kill you as you try to survive, but they can be killed using bullets which you shoot automatically which have the same velocity as you do. Enemy frequency increases as time goes on.

Before this game I had not programmed anything beyond a ball which bounces around the screen automatically, so this game is quite the improvement.

Good luck! Don't forget to post your highscores!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#153Theme4.00
#275Overall3.46
#310Fun3.26
#416Graphics3.24
#419Innovation3.29
#456Audio2.87
#618Humor2.14
#626Mood2.80

Comments

yajiv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

I liked it! It crashed for me at the end, though. Here's what the log file says:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "TriForever.py", line 729, in <module>
File "TriForever.py", line 264, in laser_calcs
IndexError: list assignment index out of range

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:25am

Beautiful presentation.

frr171 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

My favorite so far - awesome visuals, a simple yet interesting concept, and a rhythm-based twist that I really started to "feel" as the game went on. Keep up the good work!

wrongcoder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:37am

Neat game. The circle's hitbox seems too big. Thrusting with more power than the keyboard can generate seems unfair.

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:00pm

I like this game a lot! I especially like the sounds and music synchronized with the events on the game :D

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36pm

I really enjoyed this game. Definitely fits the theme, and it's kind of cool how you don't have complete control over yourself.

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

Very neat game - fits the game perfectly. I like how it pulls the circle towards the outer edge randomly - gives it a nice twist on other games like it.

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:12am

Great effort! I'd by lying if I said I was good at the game, but the design is good, with decisions to weigh up between being aggressive (but I might push too far and lose) and being cautious but getting overwhelmed by enemies.

whiteravens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:53am

Controls are a bit hard to grasp, but it's a good one! :)

docix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:25am

Great game! Definitely brought me back to the Atari days (Completed so wonderfully with the die sound effect). I think that you nailed the spirit of this Ludum Dare. Nice work!

kyru says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Neat game with an interesting idea. I would maybe have the enemies show up sooner, it can be kind of easy without anything there to harass you.

baldwinthree says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:03am

It's a shame when it pulls you out with more force than you can resist... fun game! Music was a bit repetitive, but that might just be my speakers.

DBRalir says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:08am

Great game! The core mechanics are pretty solid, but the physics seem a bit too unforgiving.
Note: I had to rename "Vignette.png" to "vignette.png" (lowercase "V") to get it to run on Linux from source.

angelk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:18am

I really enjoyed this one! The graphic design and theme are spot on, and I love the originality. I think the game mechanic really works. I like simple color palette and that combined with the audio remind me of an Atari :)

Xanjos says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:05pm

The graphics and audio are really well done and once you get used to the controls/physics, the game gets quite addictive.

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:27am

Interesting but it takes too long before something happens, and when it does it seems pretty hard to both control the ball and avoid enemies.

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:57pm

I really enjoyed this entry! The music and sound effects were great. Loved how it all created a rhythm. The game embodied the theme very well and it was very fun to play. It was rather addicting even! Great job!

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:31am

Hehe my personnal record is 54.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]