April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MetroGnome

by jprof - Jam Entry

Most of our teams first stab at a game jam. All in all not too bad given our circumstances!

MetroGnome was built with CoffeeScript + Crafty.js.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#241Humor(Jam)2.27
#299Graphics(Jam)3.08
#354Innovation(Jam)2.71
#390Theme(Jam)2.92
#442Audio(Jam)1.74
#486Fun(Jam)2.25
#507Mood(Jam)1.89
#524Overall(Jam)2.29
#1894Coolness17%

Comments

delfino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37am

Great stuff guys! Good title, novel gameplay, awesome art. And I <3 the rat

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

Love the artwork and really neat idea for a mechanic

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Great artwork.

Hayawi says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:05am

Could have been better

Jellycakes says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:06am

That was a pretty good game, followed it by the rules, moved on the metronome and found all the potatoes. But then I game over'd. Good job.

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Wow. Are those Potato Angels?

mrexcessive says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Nice panicky gnome graphic. Movement control seemed extremely irregular - sometimes dashing, quite often refusing to move at all.. I may have missed the point of something. Death early on at each attempt.

Gungnir says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Lovely idea. Lovely gnome!

May 14, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice use of rhytm. Sometimes the metrognome became invisible...

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:36am

Loved the main character design and the metronome movement was a novel idea.

May 20, 2013 @ 2:16am

Ran into some weird problem where the gnome and the birds kept turning invisible. Interesting direction, and liked the metronome mechanic once I figured it out, but the glitches and weird hit detection sort of detracted the whole experience. Still, not a bad attempt, and the art was nice.

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I needed a moment to understand the controlls, but then it was quite fun. Unfortunately the playersprite disapeared sometimes, which made the game unplayable. The graphics were amazing!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]