April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hello World.

by empireindustries - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the Space Bar to move the light blue square up and down. Avoid the other squares.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#498Audio2.79
#581Fun2.96
#673Theme3.42
#825Overall2.92
#1019Mood2.38
#1061Innovation2.36
#1224Graphics2.09
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Hello there!
The different colored squares making different notes was a really nice idea.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01pm

:) Thank you very much! That made me very happy.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Pretty good game. I didn't even notice the sound thing until I read Fabien's comment. That was a nice touch. Good game.

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:43am

I really enjoyed it. Love the idea of the sounds/music.

It would have been nice to have a few (three?) difficulties which are actual well known, but simple, yet increasingly more difficult songs. I would also like an end screen to pause and see what I've accomplished rather than the feeling that it didn't matter and back to the next game.

Maybe I'm just proud of my 3010 pts! :)

Good job.

May 1, 2013 @ 6:47am

Simple and familiar gameplay, but it worked well! And I quite enjoyed the squares playing different notes as they passed by, would be interesting if you could work that into the gameplay somehow.

Xanjos says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:11am

Really interesting concept and the gameplay is fiendishly addictive. Making the squares play different notes when they fly past the screen was quite brilliant.

Proch says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:32pm

omg this so addictive

TenTonToon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:33am

Nice game, and as minimalistic as they get :) The control is smooth and the action fast without becoming frantic. I like the sort of old-schoolish feeling you get by being kept on your toes by a game.

My own game is quite similar in concept to yours. In fact, I think the old theory about there being dragons beyond the rim of the world is false: I think all those colored squares of yours go to my game when they disappear through the left edge of the screen, and viceversa! :D

Best score so far: 3393 points

Spelchan says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Simple yet fun.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

May 6, 2013 @ 9:09pm

If you download the source, you can open it through gamemaker and I think port it to mac. I don't have a mac, so I can't, but I think that's how it works.

Detocroix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I only got 1229 but it was a lot of fun :)

lorancou says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:25pm

1303! A minimalist Jetpack Joyride, well done! This works quite well but the randomness sometimes make it too hard, this would become even better with some "level design" (with the added bonus that you could compose a music score ;) ).

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice skill-game. The mechanic was simple, but it fit very well. At first I thought, the background music was annoying until I realized, it were the squares, triggering the sounds, which is a very cool idea.

foul says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:06pm

You can try adding a load mp3 or something and scan for frequencies :) whatever song - different level. Would be nice to experiment. Good job

Ninjaxio says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Very good, simple game that really fits the theme! Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]