April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dehoarder

by SmilingCat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalize your lifestyle by reducing your hoard to a managable size. At first, your character will resist your efforts, however, as you earn willpower, you will be able to dispose of more junk.

Reach 10,000 points in as short a time as possible.
Special events may occur that will present opportunities and/or cost money.

WASD to move.
Left mouse button to select junk objects in the room.
Hold right mouse button to control camera angle.
When viewing an item, Spacebar will trash the item, 'E' will list the item for sale on eJunk, and ESC will keep the item.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#118Humor3.29
#127Innovation3.76
#238Graphics3.58
#309Mood3.19
#316Overall3.42
#475Theme3.62
#492Audio2.80
#676Fun2.84

Comments

Mega1mpact says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Is there even a win state?

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:31pm

There's a lot of gameplay in this for only 48 hours, great work.

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:34pm

"The Unity Web Player is not currently compatible with the operating system that you appear to be using." Aargh.

Look fun though.

Could you make a standalone verion?

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:52pm

omagad i've spent one hour of cleaning

ming_tea says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:56am

This was a lot of fun. I showed to to my wife and now she's completely addicted.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:57am

@Mega1mpact: Yes, win state is at 10,000 points.

@martijn: I added a Windows build, hopefully that is what you needed. Unfortunately I don't have the hardware to test other standalone builds.

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:27am

would be neat to have an oculus rift version for this!

xstargirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42am

ha it's funny and interesting. good job, I liked it!!

pwnedu46 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53am

I loved it. This game is truly addicting.

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:40am

I'm sitting in my messy room, playing a game where I clean up a room. why? because it's fun :)

ndssia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

Hehe, interesting concept!

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

Great approach to subject. Seems a bit unbeatable though... perhaps this is the message?

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:01pm

@m64 It is very beatable, my best time is day 6, 12pm. My wife's best is day 10. The shortcut keys displayed below the buttons should help things go a lot faster.

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

best so far, love the concept!

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Pretty awesome.

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I can't believe you made all these models and textures in 48 hours.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Really cool idea for a game! I think you should streamline the gameplay. Unless I'm not understanding I need to left mouse click then press spacebar for every item I want to get rid of. Maybe just remove the menu that pops up when you click on stuff and just automatically trash it or sell it. This would make things go way faster and also serve the minimalism theme better. Maybe even just simplify the controls even farther so it automatically aims the camera rather then needing to hold right mouse and you just aim the camera at stuff to remove it fps style. It seemed like no matter how much I cleaned more stuff would appear the next day. I think it would be much more satisfying if the goal is to get rid of all the garage until your apartment is totally clean. Those points aside I really enjoyed your take on the theme!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44pm

I am so scared of night fall! "NO! Don't buy more stuff!!! Argh! You bought more stuff!"

Interesting game. I wonder if this could be used to help real hoarders?

Anyways, after trying to help this guy clean his mess for 10 minutes, I panned the camera and saw room and just had to give up. I didn't achieve minimalism. I'm not sure if that was the intended goal of your game though.

Great work!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:43pm

@xgeovanni - I kept all of the models as simple as possible, and used scaling with a simple cube model for anything "boxy". The most complex model was the room itself at 270 triangles. There are 10 unique models used and the rest save the room are 60 triangles or less. I usually say I dislike blender 3D, and only use it because its free, but if you say I accomplished a feat of productivity with it, maybe I need to change the way I look at that program. Most of the textures are just solid or pattern fills with a little geometric ornamentation and text. Some stuff, like the furniture, isn't even textured, just a colored material.

@KilledByAPixel - great idea to streamline, I like your idea of getting rid of the popup, and a later version will just use a single click or keystroke to deal with an item. I'd actually love to do that now, but gameplay-wise, we're stuck with the version we have until judging ends.

@SomeNetworkGuy - I was wondering too if this could help real hoarders. I think it actually models what I know of the recovery process pretty well in taking small steps to build up to taking larger steps.

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20am

I really got pulled into this game, it was super-compelling to try and clear away the nasty piles. I kept playing after getting 10,000 points in an effort to get rid of every last bit.
I agree with above comments that the goal should have been to clear everything away, it's rewarding enough on its own without a point system.
I liked all of the setbacks that the game threw at me, it made it feel like a struggle. It seemed like the more money I saved, the more of it I'd waste at once. The random inspections made my blood boil, especially after the first one set me at -800 points.

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

Nice game, takes me to day 7 to get to 10,000pts

Stryphe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:39am

Interesting concept!

EpaceGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

Strangely compelling game.. I did a second play through and won on day 7 6PM. Would be cool to see items to buy, like a broom to sweep up all the fast food containers.

Wilson says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02am

Very cool game, though the option to try and insta-trash stuff, skipping the meun, with say the right mouse or something would be nice.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Theme use is really interesting. Good atmosphere. Nicely done!

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Cool and fun game. Great work!

Yoni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:15pm

This game used to be my life.

Skoggy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Very pretty and simple. I like it.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Very good and very different. Who do you know who lives like that?

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Nicely constructed, and an interesting concept, but I found it to be annoying how he kept buying stuff and it got really tedious after a short amount of time. Looked nice and played nice, though.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Amazing use of theme! It's the only LD48 entry to use minimalism in this way from what I've seen so far.

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Pretty angry at being charged $250 for having a few newspapers on the table :) Also, no message for completely cleaning the room? unless a cup rolled under the couch. Anyway, strangely addictive.

nseward says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:25pm

I got rid of all the stuff but he never stops buying more crap. OCD is not letting me stop. Argg! Great job!

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:36pm

It taps into the fundamental appeal of bringing order to things (eg: Tetris). I did like how mechanically it was so minimalistic, just a grinding mechanic to level up your 'will'. Felt satisfying initially but then did get a bit tiresome with the constant refilling, I just wanted to cleeeaan it all!

Ariake81 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Very atmospheric and thoughtful experience, very well designed for only 48hrs work. Great take on the minimalist brief.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Hehe this is great. A bit like a realistic katamari.

Sayaer says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Very funny, felt like i couldn't win though, maybe i'm just too much of a hoarder? lol

SmilingCat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:17am

@JimmyLord - I had thought about having the inspector not come if you got your act together, but for purposes of the dare figured that it would not play into the race to 10,000 points, so changing that went out of scope for now. There are in fact a couple of glitches unapparent to the player (and thus went unfixed) where objects could get stuck inside/under furniture, making a full clear impossible, so I didn't tie any sort of accomplishment to a full clear for that reason.

@dook - I was wondering when someone was going to make the Katamari connection. I did rather borrow from their progression mechanic (just substitute will increase for size increas), as well as borrowing their tendency for uncanny knockoffs of real world items with tongue-in-cheek flavor text.

rodrigomotta says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:05am

hahhahah Very addicted. Congrats.

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:16am

Very nice idea, lot of work done for 48 hours. A thing to improve for future versions would be smoother controls and some more help. Nice job!

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Good game... I played it and figured out, that it is fun.... i looked to my room and thought "well lets clean it up in real life... maybe its fun"... Maybe 5 Minutes later I recognized how boring this is... Now I play this game again ^^

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:43am

Interesting idea, keep your room minimalist ;-)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:37pm

@SmilingCat here's for you, my girlfriend made you this screenshot of her cleaning skills:
http://edkochan.edkocorp.com/r/src/1367523385715.png
kudos!

gregdevice says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:05am

Addictive, but eventually my impulse did me in and I couldn't keep up.

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:23pm

wow, a very fleshed out game you've made there - well done

I love the concept :)

GranaDa says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Creepy!!!! Nice audio and mood. Loved the shaking objects. Congratulations!

Beerman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Impressively addictive gameplay there, which is kinda ironic for a game about compulsive behaviours. :D Nice job.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Kind of depressing, but very interesting game! Well done!

ilovepixel says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Wow, this is really original. Trying to fight with a diogenes syndrome. I really like this idea.

May 5, 2013 @ 2:15am

Wooo, what mess (Like a my Room), haha. I like it, and the background sound is very nice. Great Job!

May 5, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Great concept. Really loved how you had to lessen your emotional attatchment to items. Thanks!

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Very clever game idea. I'm all for inventive mechanics/premises!

Personally, though, I felt that this game was more of a tedious click-fest than it was engaging. I think that the idea of playing as a hoarder who has to get rid of stuff could be a solid one, but I wish there had been some mechanics besides clicking an item, trying to toss, try to sell, click another, try to toss, try to sell, etc. etc.

Again, kudos for the inventive premise!

May 6, 2013 @ 7:27am

I'm a hoarder. I loaded this & was like "what's the problem?"

Seriously though, great work. You-Schlep. Love it.

Cosine says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Wow, interesting game. A little laggy on my tablet (maybe a flash, 2D version might be cool!)

May 7, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Cool concept so it definitely scores high on innovation in my book. Could have asked for a slightly smaller Win State but that isn't really a complaint now,is it? :3

thatwhichis says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:49pm

It's still early, but this might be my game of the year.

lotusgame says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Very novel game concept ! I never though i will play a game to clean my bedroom ! Incredible :p Well done :)

zkenshin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Very fun entry. :) I wish if you got the willpower high enough he would stop buying things and you could eventually clean out the whole room :P

AlexFili says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:36pm

It's an interesting game since it focuses on these "Hoarder" programs that are on the television now. It's not very fun though, looks great but is a bit tough to move through the menus etc.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Interestint! It's a punch when you play the game and realize that you are so attached to your things like this character. Nice job dude. Congrats!

Codename Crab says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:09am

Fantastic for 48 hours and I actually found it wildly hilarious. I hope you don't mind, but I made a video of the gameplay because I thought it was funny that I'd rather play a game wherein I clean a room than actually clean the room I was physically sitting in.

SmilingCat says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:01pm

@Codename Crab: Wow, awesome! This is the first time someone besides me has ever made a video of one of my games, and I am rather flattered. Thanks, I'm going to link to it on my blog a littler later, hope that is OK!

May 19, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Cool and also kinda fun to clean up for somebody really messing around... at least for a certain amount of time! Then I wanted to run away through the open door, but I coundn't ... what a shame! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]