April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bounce

by Elrobo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bounce is a one button platform/puzzle game. Space or mouse 1 let you jump, you are able to cling to the top/bottom of platforms but unable to directly move. The goal is to reach the exit of each stage as quickly as possible with as few jumps.

Some simple tips: You do not conserve inertia so you always jump straight up/down. Some stages appear very difficult but might have a very direct path.


Made with: Unity 3.5 free and sfxr.


Native Client:
If you are not on Windows/Mac you can play the game in a browser that supports native client execution (chrome/firefox). You just need to enable it in the broswer, in chrome go to chrome://flags and enable Native Client. Then head to the webplayer page for it here: http://www.animationbychance.com/LD48_26/WebPlayer_nacl.html

I'm actually reasonably happy with how this turned out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#126Theme4.05
#170Innovation3.65
#367Fun3.19
#563Overall3.16
#606Mood2.82
#758Graphics2.76
#799Humor1.92
#848Audio2.20

Comments

Whiteclaws says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28am

I like it ! The art is simplistic yet the game is innovative !

DanB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12am

Simple and a lot of fun. Got really hard too. Nice job.

gabehollombe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25am

I love the simplicity. It's fun!

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23am

Very minimalistic. Gameplay and graphics.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25am

Cool concept! Collision detection was a bit buggy though - I kept going through platforms!

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

Lot of fun.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:13am

Too bad you have to wait for the right platforms position sometimes for too long, but nice game.

jijaweb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:20am

Cool game. I like it. Fun!

Manuel777 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09am

Nice! a bit slow to my likes, it would be MUCH more fun if it also tested reflexes, but still, very nice :)

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:09am

very basic gameplay/graphics (as the theme suggested) but the idea is very nice and challenging

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

One button to rule them all!

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Really original gameplay ^^

GameNacho says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41am

Fun game

tacograveyard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47am

Really enjoyed this one. Cool idea.

The hit boxes are bit buggy and I did get stuck in a level with no way to continue.

Elrobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54am

Oh dear, I thought I had that covered with all the bottom platforms, do you remember what level (color, rough platform layout or number if you were counting) and how it happened?

Stryphe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

Very nice concept! I enjoyed playing it!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:20am

Very innovative! I liked this game!

Bloated Hippo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07am

Innovative gameplay, haven't seen anything like it. If you ever wanted to change the graphics, I could see a sticky ball of slime or something as the character. Good game.

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:54am

Yoooo digging this. Love the idea of a platformer controlled by mouse, and the minimalist but appealing level of polish .

quantumryan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:36pm

Very cool, simple idea executed very well.

My only suggestion would be something to show where the moving platforms will bounce, such as a darker rectangle where they move, or lighter areas at their movement bounds.

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

This is one of the best platform puzzle games ive tried so far. the color effects are really cool

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

This is a new idea. It was a tad irritating at times, but bonus points for innovation!

BumpkinRich says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Most minimal so far. Love the way the block is animated :)

Could have done with some kind of background to help judge the jumps, but I can totally see what there isn't one.

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06pm

A bit different take on the one-button game. Cool little game :).

Merkoth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Very nice, it was fun and very minimalistic. Good job!

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:32am

Very well done! Cuteness overload!

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42am

Really nice little game. I liked the visuals and the gameplay was pretty fun! Would like to see this expanded upon. So good job!

Cirrial says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Nice simple mechanic. I like the aesthetic. Really suits the theme!

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:57am

Sort of like throwing spaghetti against the wall to see if it will stick, except in pixelated form

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:08pm

A great idea, simple yet challenging. The puzzles were thought out and laid out well, was a lot of fun. Well Done =]

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Animation and theme is lovely! My only criticism is that the levels often got frustrating.

notajetski says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:29pm

fun! couldn't get past the blue level though.

TheSheep says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Frogger!

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:58am

That game is minimalist both by its graphical style and gameplay. Clever move :)
Only problem... BRIGHT COLORS GAAAH.

mollymus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Could've used a way to reset the levels! Got stuck at.. err.. level 4 or something(?) just next to the goal :( Either way, was quite fun!:)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]