April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minty Relaxation

by TheChris - Jam Entry

A relaxing infinite runner where planes drop potatoes, a box visits houses, and any key will do... but it will only do two things.

Tips and Tricks:
Press any button for a rad jump!
For a sweet ground pound press any button in the air!

Made with Flixel and Box2d

Made by:
Darwik Pek - http://www.darwinpek.net
Chris Mika - http://www.chrismika.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#23Fun(Jam)3.85
#99Overall(Jam)3.62
#105Graphics(Jam)3.85
#166Humor(Jam)2.62
#167Theme(Jam)3.57
#211Mood(Jam)3.14
#269Innovation(Jam)2.97
#357Audio(Jam)2.51

Comments

darwinpek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29am

This game was a lot of fun to make.

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nice game, I like runners. It was a bit hard to calculate where to jump so I wouldn't fall in the abyss

CrazyGage says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

good game, but I am terrible at it. lol

DBRalir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice game! Very entertaining and challenging.

eedok says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21am

Really fun to smash the ground, great effects associated with that. Sometimes death feels unfair. Audio could use a lot of work, haha. I like it overall.

William Bundy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22am

A fun and exciting take on the runner genre. After a while though, the box starts flying offscreen; is that intended?

disease says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23am

Great game design. In order to score points you sometimes have to make risky jumps. Also the double jump mechanic discourages button mashing. Very challenging and fun.

epaik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25am

Nicely done, I appreciate the polish you guys put into this.

I got excited when I realized that hitting the edges of the platform did something.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:10am

So. Cool. I played for ages, but I couldn't get past 2.6 KM! I suck. I really love the moon haha!

Beardbotnik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12am

Really fun game with great mechanics for only using 1 button. The graphics look really nice and give off a cool mood, only thing I can think of that would make it better would be some good music.

shiprib says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16am

Wow, stylish and nicely presented. The controls take some getting used to, so early deaths feel unfair until you get the hang of it.

TheChris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:18am

Thanks for the reviews! William, if you were talking about the box going up off the screen, it isn't intentional, but we didn't have time to fix it. Any movement left and right isn't intended.

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26am

love this. lively motion, and the alternating jump/smash makes for a really interesting rhythm gameplay-wise

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:18am

Great gameplay

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:42am

Nice! This would make a killer as an app game.

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45am

Wow! This is brilliant! I love the mood and overall feeling!

Claw says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45am

Really fun game, it felt very satisfying to drop down with force and crush the floor and the physics felt solid. My only gripe is the death screen making you click with the mouse to continue rather than just a keypress, but that's a tiny thing. Great work!

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

I like the game it was challenging

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:42am

Awesome game, stomping stuff is really fun. Looks pretty polished. But the platforms seem to get too far apart later in the game.
Overall my favourite game yet.

WhatTheTeam says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I love all the feedbacks with the screen's shakes and sounds.
It's very pleasant to play.

But running-games can't be relaxing :D. I'm just frustrating myself because I didn't go far enough :D

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I really like the idea of only using one button. The graphics style is good, I like that it is brownish referencing potatoes :D

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Nice, fun game! I sucked at it but it worked and resopnded well. I love the little effects when you slam into the ground, how everything kinda shakes and falls over. Really nice, simple and fun.

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Fun and challenging! The visual style is very good, well done!

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:12pm

I don't really like runner games too much, but I had a lot of fun with this one, I think the bounce mechanic made the game. Also, cool aesthetic and graphical cues!

chowdy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Really interesting gameplay from simple mechanics. I had a lot of fun with this one; great job!

May 2, 2013 @ 9:00am

Neat mechanic with the ground pound for destruction. Think you should have made the player a monster or demon or something to give it context (since the rest of the world is relatable in some way and not abstract).

rogueNoodle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Really fun and I like the risk/reward element of trying to hit the platform edges. Great art too - nice entry :)

Ray says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:35am

This game makes my testicles tingle. I like it.

sharbelfs says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:07am

And I was thinking Canabalt is minimalist, hehehehe.
Great runner, really gorgeous. With a BG music, this game can be a awesome mobile game.

zanzindorf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:12am

That's awesome! I love this game. It gives you a good satisfying feeling every time you womp the floor. I think you should hint to the player that they should aim for the edges though. It took me a few plays before I realized how I was getting points.

Prelucid says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:17am

Awesome game, I loved it!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Smoothly implemented and strangely replayable. The ground pound is a nice touch.

kill0u says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Fun, but a little hard :)

May 15, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Interesting twist to the traditionally overused genre. Pretty fun to play too.

kddekadenz says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Seems to be very similar to Canabalt.

BrothersT says ...
May 24, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Don't worry it's not similar to Canabalt :P I you don't see people saying "it's very similar to Super Mario" just because something's a side-scrolling platformer. Anyway I really liked the game but just a couple of points:

- I wasn't really sure of what the objective was, even when I found out that you could get points by slamming the beginning or end of an island I still wasn't sure why it got me points ie. what the context of the game was, surrounded with all this other stuff happening - It's like if you were doing a test in a room filled with interesting looking stuff and you were given points for consecutively hitting the third brick on the wall from the left with a tennis ball - you wouldn't think "sweet! doing this gets me points!" you'd think "what the hell am I doing here and why does doing this get me points and why should I care?". And the fact that there was both a distance meter and a points meter made me even less sure if what I was doing was really the right thing. I think just stick to one scoring system next time maybe?

- Despite it being confusing I liked the gameplay, esp. the slamming on islands (otherwise it pretty much would have just been a slight variation on canabalt) But the fact that you bounce off the ground at completely random velocities meant you could bounce with no velocity at all, meaning inevitably you would just hardly bounce every so often and die and no amount of skill could save you, which was very frustrating.

Despite this you've got a really high score in fun! And well deserved. I think if you fixed these problems it would be a REALLY addictive game.

darwinpek says ...
May 27, 2013 @ 5:02am

Hey, BrothersT! Thanks for the helpful criticism. You make a good point about the objective being unclear and confusing and we'll see if we can fix that (We're planning on releasing a polished version of this game next month). We realized the second point while developing the game during Ludum Dare, but we didn't have enough time to fix it during the event.

Again, thanks for the feedback, we really appreciate it! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]