April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

I don't wanna be an @

by ashdnazg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROLS (READ THIS): One press of any key (WASD) and your character starts moving in that direction (same as snake). If you're holding a key down, you're doing it wrong.
If the same key is pressed again, you stop. If another key is pressed you start going in that direction.

I know it's a bit weird, the alternative was to make you press a key for every single step (like H is used for fighting).


Story and other stuff:
All was nice and well for the stickpeople,
until the evil programmer decided that even though anything with ASCII graphics is definitely minimalistic,
Roguelikes must be the way to go for LD 26 ("Yo Batch, one characterz so minimalistic!").


The world is collapsing, stickpeople transform into @'s, the walls can (and will) kill you!
You should run (right) for your life.


Written in Batch, sweat and tears (Developing was truly a technical adventure).
Download the file, unrar and run "main.bat"

Many thanks for playing my game!

https://github.com/ashdnazg/ld26

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#135Theme4.04
#148Innovation3.70
#155Humor3.08
#669Graphics2.89
#825Overall2.92
#926Mood2.50
#999Audio1.79
#1101Fun2.32

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:51am

It gets points just because you wrote it in batch

guestcheap says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:57am

^Seconded
This is the craziest thing I have ever seen.

erdos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

I really want to play this but I'm on a mac and I can't get it to work in dosbox, will be coming back to this one when I get to the office (PC), pretty awesome effort to write this with bat files!

HELLO23 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:36am

LOL ! A Whole game in Batch !
I really enjoyed !
Very nice graphics !
ps. check my game it is also in console :)

AnnynN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:16am

Kudos for doing such a game in batch! :)

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:37am

damn you walls!! +1 for batch!

yinbar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I had no idea this was possible.

Zer0XoL says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Nice work.

Pickehut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:36pm

I imagine it was kind of a pain in the ass to write that in batch^^
I'm a fan of roguelikes so I liked the concept of your game.
However, I wasn't able to control the character properly (don't know if that's my own fault or the game's) and it was kind of annoying to be forced to restart the game everytime you die.
Great work though!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

+ points for batch, as mentioned before :)

I like the amount of work you've put into this, but controls are not very responsive:

sometimes after going right with D and then pressing W my character has stopped, then, all of a sudden, it started to go top and hit the wall.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:59pm

lol, how, I don't even...

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

@Everybody Mentioning controls:
I should have written it clearer. One press of any key and your character starts moving in that direction (same as snake). you should not hold the key down!
If the same key is pressed again, you stop. If another key is pressed you start going in that direction.

I'll add this to the description.
I'm aware this type of controlling is bad. Unfortunately it's the best thing I'm able to implement, and even though I tried quite a lot, I couldn't circumvent this. :(

@Everybody mentioning batch:
Many thanks! However, you should think what you are actually saying when you post that :)
The sad part is I kinda agree :)

@Pickehut:
I know the quit and restart part sucks, I'm not sure if I could make some in-game restart option, and if it'd save time at all. I suppose I should have tried to implement this.

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Well, that made my day! But why is everyone else going to the left??? What do they know that I don't?

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20pm

@cahman: It's an illusion, there are also many guys going to the right, but since you're at the same speed (and since you're gonna die) you'll never reach them. :)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Wow serious points for writing in batch. I can't even imagine how you'd begin to do that.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48pm

You are insane, a game in batch! Hahaha good job!

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Five stars for innovation!

ericlass says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Awesome idea to do this in batch.

DaveDobson says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Very clever idea to make a DOS game for the minimalism competition. Total style points. I think the game is a little too hard - I played several times and only barely got to the part where my fellow stickmen turned into at signs. Great concept, though. I love the audio track :-).

vgcharlienash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Nice! Good that others decided to do their game in batch too :) Perhaps we could work together sometime.

AtkinsSJ says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:00pm

:D This is completely crazy. Two thumbs up for it even working!

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:58am

so cute!! nice job! =)

Robrock55 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:35pm

What is this game ? Seriously, batch files ?
Full for innovation ! But this is so long to move....... :(

ashdnazg says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:07pm

My appologies :( As weird as it sounds, the game actually requires a high-end CPU...

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Odd idea but cool.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Cool game dude. Congratz!

Blinked says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:29am

Wow, nice job!

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:09am

Amazing work... never thought you could do something like this with batch files... :)

TenTonToon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:03am

Sir, I hereby name you Duke of Ludum Dare and King of the Minimalistic Hill! The game, as a piece of software, gets the highest possible rating by being written in batch. The animations are hilarious, and do not get me started on "sound design". Pure genius!

On the other hand, gameplay seemed to boil down to basically get the character running in a straight line and mash the H key every time a stickguy got nearby. It almost became old, fast. Almost. The fighting animations kept me coming back for more XD

In more ways than one, this is the game against which every other entry should be judged.
Congratulations! :)

ashdnazg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:05am

@TenTonToon: And that's without exaggerating!

btw, gameplay-wise, it is usually better to bypass the stickguy, as you waste more time (and are more evil) if you beat it to death.

@Everybody: Thanks! I'm considering writing a post describing how the game works under the hood. It might be of interest to some.

TenTonToon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Thanks for the pro tip! I'll try the game again, running by my fellow stickdudes and clenching my teeth, fighting the urge to go all ascii-fu on their asses XD
And a post-mortem of this particular game's development would indeed be really interesting! :D

Shigor says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:36am

Fantastic :)

marnaouf says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Very interesting technical take on the theme.

KEFIR says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Why there is no rates for programming? Because this is amazing programming work with such limited abilities! Let's say this is innovation. Really cool!

ethankennerly says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:58am

The walking ASCII character interested me. If you continue to develop this, I'd be curious what other tropes of text or command line you might include.

May 15, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Kudos to you for writing it in a batch. The game is pretty fun and hell nothing can be more minimalistic than batch and ASCII characters. :D

ashdnazg says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:30am

Many thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]