April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Square Quest

by paulopn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first Ludum Dare entry: "Square Quest"

The basic idea of this game is to take the style of a Zelda-like game and strip it down to the bare minimum.

It was coded using libgdx.
Every block of the game is rendered separately,using an image as a map.The collision detection is also self-coded.

It's much heavier than it should be and it's also buggy, but nothing gamebreaking.

I took effort into making the game easy to play, but there's a tutorial screen, just in case.

I'm also taking part in the "One Game a Month" challenge, I'll probably expand this game later.
Controls:
Arrow keys to move, Z to shoot

I appreciate any feedback!


(a small update: I added credits to the title screen...I had that done yesterday, but I saved the image in the wrong place...Also, it apparently works on Linux, so it's marked as Win/Linux now)

I'll eventually make an updated version, but only after judging ends. This version is exactly what I made in 48 hours.

Known bugs:
There are about 2 coins that are impossible to collect

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#108Audio3.56
#124Fun3.59
#184Overall3.59
#224Theme3.90
#261Graphics3.51
#420Mood3.07
#529Humor2.25
#836Innovation2.76

Comments

ANNECHALKE says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:13am

great job =)

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

Nice work. Incredible how a few pixels can suggest a coastline, a forest or even a zombie! The forests were my favourite part, felt a bit like Monkey Island.

ecbambrick says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

It's got a good feeling of exploration. Nice.

frr171 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

This would awesome as an Android game (how fitting then that you used LibGDX). Cool music, and the aesthetics work really well - you should definitely expand this post-compo.

Magnus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19am

Surprisingly robust. I love how much depth the characters being two pixels tall added.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23am

I really liked how all the in game objects and enemies felt so distinct while using very small sprites and a limited color palette. Well done.

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:24am

frr171, that was exactly what I was planning when I decided to learn libgdx =D

Zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:20am

awesome! the graphics really do a great job of minimally conveying scenery

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

Great game, would love to see an expanded version. I wish you wouldn't get stuck on walls when moving diagonally, though.

gregdevice says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:27am

Excellent Job, loved all of it. What did you end up using for the music? Thanks!

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:34am

I used abundant-music =D

Taro Omiya says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

Slick, this definitely feels like a Zelda game. Well-done.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Great! I especially liked the music. The game itself played really well, but I couldn't see the bullets too well on the light pink sand. I think you could have added a lot of atmosphere to the game by choosing different colors.

jlm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50pm

It was too easy to get stuck on terrain, but was fun overall.

The Windows jar works great on Linux btw.

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I had a great time playing this one, is curious how even people with different numerals should be able to play it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:36am

The graphics were quite imaginative for only being literally a pixel big. Fet like some places were inaccessible, but it was still enjoyable.

gmaker says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:59am

really fun! good job!!! i loved it )

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:52pm

The screenshots look really nice. Unfortunately I can't play it because I'm on a Mac :(

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:56am

Wow, this was really fun. A few things:

* There seemed to be two pieces of gold in the forest I couldn't collect, because they were behaving like solid objects.
* In the desert section, the player's projectiles were the same color as the sand and pretty much impossible to see after being fired.
* The music was a little loud at times.

Other than those minor issues, this was a really well done game. I liked the eight directional shooting and the soundtrack was amazing. I never encountered any glitches during gameplay, and I highly enjoying exploring the dungeons. Fantastic job!

May 7, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Some good music here and I like the exploration element you have integrated into the game! xD

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Excellent game! Amazing that the game play and sction is so clear and simple!

3.14 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:51pm

It lacks proper ending but otherwise it's a great game. It would change a lot it there was some storyline - if only it would be text messages popping out on some points.

I aimed to create something similar, though quickly settled for an even more simplified setting.

Dir3kt says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:54am

Liked it a lot, very good job! Please expand it for a #1GAM entry!!

geckojsc says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Very cool world to explore! I liked the variety of enemies and environments, the sound effects, and the amount of detail you were able to convey with such simple graphics!

Tyro pretty much mentioned the only criticisms I could think of. Good job!

MrBlade says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:01am

Make an in browser version.

Jeremias says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:39am

Funny little game. Here is my feedback:

- There are two yellow coins in the forest which I can't collect.
- The player should be able to press multiple moving keys. E.g. if I walk along a corridor from the left to the right and then see, that it will turn to the top, I often press the right and the up key so he automatically turns the direction then - but in your game, the character doesn't move anymore. It would be nice if you add this comfort feature in your post-compo.
- The dungeon with the entry point in the desert... if you want to leave the dungeon (holding the up key), you immediately enter it because you progress moving up after entering the overworld.
- Collecting coins is getting exhausting really fast, perhaps you should add a collecting radius of two squares in which my character automatically gets them?

The graphics fit very well, nice how you communicate the landscapes in such a simple, effective way.

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:00am

Great job! It was very interesting exploring the pixel world. Though sometimes I couldn`t collect coins, and one path that, I think, should be open, was closed. You need more playtesting if you want to take it further.
The downside is that the game requires me to be pixel-perfect. Catching coins and shooting enemies was tiring sometimes. Also, make enemies shoot diagonally, otherwise they are very ease to kill.

paulopn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Thanks for all the awesome feedback! I'll look into everything that was said for the complete version! =D

GarethIW says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Really fun, loved the pixelly art. Collisions were a bit sticky at times.

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:02am

Complete game, you have a nice title screen, tutorial and an ending. I just regret the too simple monster IA, a better path finding would have make monsters more fearsome.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]