April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tinge

by Tater_hater - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You wake up in a forest, void of color. Strange animals walk around in the shade of gray trees. You discover something, color and pick it up and the world slowly, gradually, changes.

There is no ending, didn't have time, but when you're satisfied with how much color you've brought back into the world, you win

Arrow Keys to move, goal is to pick up the red tinges spread across the randomly generated terrain.

Note: a small bit of the terrain gen was previously written, but only a small part was used.

Music made by Earslap.com Made with Construct 2, BFXR

Sourcecode:https://drive.google.com/#folders/0ByyrAdBUUlMfMTZ5Q3dzY2lrdGs

Twitter: Tater_Hater2 (ironically i really love potatoes as a food)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#240Mood3.30
#381Theme3.72
#412Audio2.95
#640Humor2.11
#713Innovation2.93
#812Overall2.93
#840Graphics2.67
#908Fun2.60

Comments

bfhensel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

Awesome minimalist game!!! He should win!!!!

jijaweb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25am

Cool game

hamrath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Very cool!

Ninjaxio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06pm

This is really, really good. The atmosphere is just right, the game is interesting, how interaction with the red objects changes the world around you. I hope to see this game towards the finish.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Nice game even minimalist! Great Job :)

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Some of the collisions felt a bit off. A nice little exploration/collecting game; good work!

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Woah crazy lag, but it seemed enjoyable. Hard to say, but nice work.

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

I liked the idea of starting in a minimalistic state and building up, and also enjoyed the mysteriously soothing music.
Good job

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Very minimalistic but it had some collision problems, I got stuck between 2 white tiles.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

That's really pleasant. It feels like a Jenovah Chen game. I kept playing for longer than is entirely rational. I do wish that there was more development (I'm assuming that it ends with the pigs).

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Love the mood! A Menu and such would have been nice. Great job on the theme!

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Just a quick tip: I didnt have time to finalize the random terrain gen to be perfect, so if you spawn stuck in a corner, refresh until the world is not slamming you into a wall

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Neat idea. I like the way we slowly discover the effect of the red objects. Maybe the SFX feedback to pick up a red object could be more rewarding for the player.
I also like a lot the avatar animation, a detail but it brings something that matters a lot.
Nice work!

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10pm

i like the atmosphere here, the exploration and search, maybe more colors could be fine, but i like the evolution of graphics. nice!

ComicSans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Very nice... is there an end? Combination of dead ends and slow movement made me give up, even though I didn't want to.

Also, regarding your "Note", I hope you didn't ruin this nice entry by violating the rules.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

The mood was nice and put me into a relaxed state of mind, just endlessly drifting through a forest. The first time I tried to play I was boxed in to the top left corner starting area, but after a refresh everything worked great.

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:37pm

There is no end? I did find it intriguing but I would have loved to find something nice in the right bottom corner. ;) I liked it though and i understand the limits of 48h.

Tater_hater says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:29am

@ComicSans There wasn't an end, although i really wanted to add one as well as an enemy, but due to the limitations of time and Construct 2 I didn't get to it.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Nice ambiance. Made me sleepy while playing. Wish there was something that made my motivations a little more clear. Also, the fact that the world is seemingly endless was a little confusing at first as i wasn't sure how far I should go or what would happen. Still not really sure if there is an ending, after a while the red dots stopped seeming to do anything (after the cubes became pigs) so I stopped.

Polar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Really liked it, although after a while (15 mins, maybe?) I started to get a bit bored of collecting red dots :)

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:14pm

A bit unsettling. For an atmospheric game like this, programmer art/music is a turn-off.

May 2, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Real nice atmosphere you got going in your game!

Is there a reason you opted to use smoothed-out scaling on some objects like the player and trees, and not on the pigs/walls? I think that choosing one style would have improved the graphics somewhat.

Good job otherwise! ~

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Interesting. Are you supposed to just be able to walk through the animals and arrows (which I assume are trees?) The audio was quite relaxing, but I felt like the gameplay was a bit bare.

sharbelfs says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Good exploration game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:11pm

strange little game...

May 18, 2013 @ 8:31pm

A pleasant little experience!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]