April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CRAAASH

by nurabsal - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: updated web link to Kongregate to deal with bandwidth issues


Finished my first ever compo entry! Huzzah?! An extremely short point and click adventure game written in flash pro. Graphics in Paint with a smidge of photoshop. Music thrown together in FLStudio (glad I had time for music).

Spaceman and Floatybot are zipping through space when their ship gets nailed by an asteroid!!! They crash on some planet??? What now!!!

THINGS THAT ARE MINIMAL:
1. The art
2. The plot
3. The gameplay
4. The resolution
5. Enthusiasm from the only character with a speaking role

CONTROLS: POINT MOUSE AND CLICK. ALSO READ OR ELSE IT PROBABLY WILL MAKE EVEN LESS SENSE THAN IT ALREADY DOES.

I'm here to answer any questions. It worked fine when I ran it a billion times but I'm sure it's still going to break.

Uploaded FLA but its kinda fat due me being an amateur. Really can't wait to play all the games! I'm stoked!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#73Humor3.55
#82Overall3.82
#84Audio3.65
#91Graphics3.95
#94Mood3.64
#395Fun3.16
#831Theme3.25
#844Innovation2.75

Comments

NiftyLlama says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:14am

Short, sweet, and to the point. Plus a sarcastic robot. I like it.

ryuurei says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:29am

Robot reminds me quite a bit of GLaDOS. Fun to read. Nice chip-tune music.

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12am

I like the robot. It was fairly easy to figure out how to play but it could have been easier.

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19am

Cool little game :)
Peace out, space dude

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35am

I love the colors. Good work.

roaet says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

Love it.

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

I enjoyed the music and the dialogue. Nice level of polish and cohesiveness for a game made in 48 hours.

RichardMarks says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

Consider me impressed.

notajetski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

love that ending music!

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

Neat little bite-sized adventure, I was a bit lost after triggering light-sequences and get the item.
I like consistent color theme and overall map (feels like Lucasarts' "Dig" in that kind of premise..)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41am

Best game ever.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46am

Quite enjoyable.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51am

Found the font a little hard to read. Also, couldn't figure out what to do at the "Turn on the right cores" part. I figured I had missed something on the intro dialogue, but I don't think I could go back, so I had to restart. I think the graphics and audio worked very well together, though, it set a great mood!.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01am

Great point & click adventure! Short'n'sweet!

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:36am

Nice music, but personally it seemed way too loud compared to the sound at the beginning of the game.

I really liked the aesthetic. The graphics looked very appealing, but I wish more would have been done with it. As it stands, this is a collection of very simple and not particularly fun minigames with gaps filled by terrible puns and bizarrely forced dialog. If this had been made into an adventure game with logic puzzles, I think it could have worked very well. As it stands, the gameplay is basically non-existent, and in my opinion gameplay is very important for a game.

Please don't take it too harshly, because I really like the look of it all. I just think that something more interesting should have been done with it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

I especially liked the graphics and sound!

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:54am

very moody and great artstyle! i love it..

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

Reminds me of the humor of Space Quest. Great work! Rated very high.

Jonatron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:45am

A fun little adventure game. Good to see a HTML5 game out there.

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:50am

Cute sweet thingy, I liked it, good job!

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Best game i've played in this LD!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Wow. <3

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:04pm

I love how much is contained in this tiny package. You have a beginning, middle, and end, a structure, puzzles, a hub area, and even a credit roll...it's like you put in juuuuuust enough of everything to make it feel like a bite-sized version of a full adventure game.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Definitely gave me a Space Quest vibe at first - I like it.

zitheker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59pm

this is a little funny game. i like the text and the music. Though, i think she's a little too loud. Good work for a first LD

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Looking nice, but a bit on the small side... :) Music was a little loud, but the game is cool!

spolvid says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Holy crap this music is great.

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Love the dialogue, and the variety. Great game.

Sestren says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:09am

I rather liked the ending music. The green hue to everything looked nice, too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]