April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Min's Journey

by acro - Jam Entry

Min is one busy little dude, fully overequipped for his high-paced lifestyle.
But is there really meaning in his tasks? Actually, what are the important parts?
Is less... more?

----------

Two of us worked on this, starting from some base java code.

The idea was to explore the whole concept of minimalism, a bit through the player rather than explicitly taking things from it. Not sure how well we succeeded. Also, our first jam, so probably overblown the time... ;)

Hope you like it!

Edit 2:

We fixed a game crashing bug that happened when you were hit by too many enemies.

Edit:

Some people have encountered problems getting the game to start. In 100% of cases so far, it's because you need to update your Java to the latest version from java.com (the latest update of 1.7). It won't work with Java 1.6.

Controls:

WASD move, arrow keys fire.
Spacebar only starts the game.
Esc to quit the game at any point

Thanks for playing, to everyone who's done so already! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#199Humor(Jam)2.44
#257Graphics(Jam)3.26
#298Fun(Jam)2.82
#313Mood(Jam)2.79
#326Audio(Jam)2.71
#326Overall(Jam)2.97
#393Theme(Jam)2.91
#394Innovation(Jam)2.56

Comments

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:36am

Nice little game! I loved the quirky graphics and the ending. Keep it up :P

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Can't play on windows, won't detect spacebar press :(

Hyaku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37pm

Nice game. I really love the character and the enemies sprites.

The ending is cute.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Despite what it seemed, it's a decent game ! Very funny !

acro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Thanks for the feedback guys, really glad you enjoyed it :) TheAwesomeProgrammer, are you sure the game window had mouse focus, sometimes that can be the problem.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Cool game, the controls were a little akward and I didn't really like that all enemies "took a break" if the player stood still. Nice work tho!

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Cant open jar.

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Catchy music and nice artwork. I unfortunately couldn't figure out how to get out of the second room, pressing space doesn't seem to do anything for me?

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26pm

alas the Jar won't launch for me either, I'm on Mac Osx 10.6

Looks really nice though, will come back and hope there's a solution

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50pm

At first I tried to kill all the baddies, but then I found out they're just a nuisance because you can't be damaged. The moralistic part didn't appeal to me so much, but still a good effort to incorporate the theme. I like the maze at the end.

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:18pm

I liked the concept, the idea of becoming minimalistic instead of already starting that way is nice! Also liked the transformation of the character and the ending.

May 2, 2013 @ 1:01am

Well, I can definetly say I didn't understand what was going on, but somehow it made me play til the end. So good job i suppose :P

enzo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:07am

Interesting art style! It almost looks like clay?

I have to admit I was unnaturally pissed at 'Cheevo' at the start, haha. Good game

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Game crashed on me when I stood still in a pile of purple monsters and got hit a multitude of times.

V0ID says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Very nice. The plot and the ending are very good, the music is nice, liked this game most until now : )

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Thanks for the continued feedback guys, we really appreciate it :)

@drstik you use wasd to move and arrows to fire, you need to find the end of level portal to progress. Space only works to start the game.

@pentaphobe, chances are it's the Java version, can you try download the latest version, 1.7.

@enzo, the sprites were pre-rendered in Blender, they do look a bit like clay :) I'm really happy with how they turned out.

@zkenshin Thanks for reporting that, I've fixed the crash bug and re-uploaded.

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Cool game, I didn't realize until a bit later that the purple guys were responding to my WASD presses, hahaha.

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Nice. I didn't have time to read all the text between the levels. Are the musics made with autotracker?

zinfandel says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:41am

Hey very cool entry! You did claymation too :D
The idea of losing a weapon every time is good and adds some stress. All those little concepts really add up to a good game.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:26am

"The End" I guess it is impossible to die, which made the game really easy.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I don't have Java installed. Sorry :(

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:59am

I like the art!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:01am

quirky but nice -- like the theme with removing parts of the game -- cool idea -- nice job

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Reversed Megaman :D Like those sprites graphics. Are hulk dodging bullets ? Sometime they really seems too. The ssekers presence add tons of fun in the game, you have to alternate arcade and strategic sequences. Nice ending by the way, are you trying to say I should stop testing LD game and spend more time with my wife ?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]