April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Circle Barrage

by CaseyHardman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You control the blue square.

Use WASD to move and the left mouse button to fire. Aim your shots with your mouse cursor.

Circles will spawn at the sides of your screen and chase you. They grow faster and faster the longer you leave them alive. If they touch you, you lose 1 health.

As you go on, circles will spawn faster and reach their top speed faster.

Try to kill as many circles as you can before they overcome you.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#994Theme3.05
#1111Fun2.30
#1226Overall2.40
#1296Graphics1.85
#1338Innovation1.53
#1689Coolness32%

Comments

theomnis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Great pacing! It took a while for things to get difficult on normal, but hard mode is definitely hard.

CaseyHardman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Thank you :)

I kind of had to abandon a platformer game I was planning on making and choose to make this instead because I didn't have enough time to work out all the glitches in my tools and such. If I had planned things out better, I might have had time to add more gameplay elements or factors to make it less of an inevitable loss.

I'm pretty sure the circles eventually start spawning faster than you can fire LOL

Khaldrin says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Gratulation to your first LD. Fun little game, fits the theme. Difficulties are well scaled. Some sounds would be a nice addition and maybe some 'orientation' point for the player (maybe even a simple background would do) to get a notion of the curent movement speed and direction. But overal a solid contribution :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Basic game but pretty enjoyable.

CaseyHardman says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Thanks for the compliments and advice!

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Really minimal arena shooter. Like it!

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Good job on finishing your game :)

Hamumu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:16pm

Support lefties! Support ARROW KEYS! When I finally realized it was possible to MOVE, this got about ten times more interesting. It is too simple to really be a good game (that's the problem with this theme!), but I appreciate the polish of multiple difficulties.

CaseyHardman says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:49am

Sorry about the lack of control explanations in-game, Hamumu. I figured it'd be OK to just explain the controls in the description here on Ludum Dare.

I don't really understand why lefties can't use WASD. It's just like using arrow keys, but in a different location of the keyboard, regardless of which side your mouse is on, right?

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:04am

For some reason, when I played this, my square stayed in the top left corner and I couldn't see my health or progress, which made it seem like I was moving the circles rather than my avatar (which actually seemed like a really game concept). Given your screenshots, though, it doesn't seem like that is what is supposed to be happening, though. Nice difficulty progression, but it seemed like I could get pretty far just holding "A" and shooting the circles that came too close.

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:06am

That was pretty neat. It looked like little google chrome logos were getting shot out.

evilDan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:09am

Nicely executed! Simple but complete.

Tyro says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:30am

Simple but fun. What's not to like?

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Nice game! Am I supposed to always be in the upper left corner? ;)

PaulSB says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:56pm

I've been had!

It's a basic game but nicely done, I enjoyed the hard difficulty 'cause I'm hardcore like that. Also only found you could move in comments. Bit more polish and variety and you could have something nice!

Qaterknan says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:34am

Really nice gameplay, I love games like this!

CaseyHardman says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:33am

Thanks for playing and commenting, everyone!

I don't know why people are getting stuck in the upper-left corner. You're supposed to remain in the center at all times. A glitch must be causing you to be initialized in the corner, and since movement doesn't actually move your square, you just sit there. Sorry for the glitch!

Topaz says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:05am

Very minimalist, but very nice. Got 746, and was on level 16.

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Can't play your game because no Linux build. Also, please remember that not everyone has a qwerty keymap.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]