April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Bends - Minimum to Anoy

by TinyGolem - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game is the culmination of my frustration... I present to you "The Bends - Minimum to Anoy", this game contains the minimum of game mechanics, implemented to such a minimal standard that it only breads annoyance through a little spark of hope when one sees what it could have been. :)

To all LD48 people... well done! See you all next time and hopefully I'll have something better to share with you then than my brains garbage bin.

P.S. let me know how fast you got around the track. :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#664Theme3.43
#937Innovation2.60
#1023Humor1.50
#1111Fun2.30
#1169Overall2.50
#1176Graphics2.17
#1185Mood2.05
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

martijn says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:20pm

The controls.... are weird. I don't really understand what the goal is. After playing around I found that you can just keep pressing up and you can just fly around all obstacles.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:53am

Rated it

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Interesting, but frustrating. Lol, which was what you were going for?

jmf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:38pm

I found this very interesting. Doing the physics and controls for the curves must have been tough, plays nicely though!

sol_hsa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Too bad there doesn't seem to be a goal =)

Diamonde says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I love the concept and the simplicity of the game. You've created something quite cool with the use of only boxes and a sphere :D
As for the playability I feel it would be cool with a few more levels experimenting a little more with these crazy level designs(which I really enjoyed in this single level.)
Good work overall! :)
PS. 38 seconds was my best (third lap)

May 2, 2013 @ 1:41pm

I've taken a few minutes to understand how to control the ball in curves. But when i finally managed it, i've enjoyed the game! I finished it in 104.41 seconds

May 5, 2013 @ 2:48am

Good Challenge. I found the controls a little confused, yet more in curves.

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:39pm

I like the idea of going upside down on curves. I think it would help if the speed of the ball increased when you go around the curve.

MrBlade says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Great game! I Found a game breaking bug within 20 seconds. Controls are a bit weird. Other then that, 10/10!

euwaku says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:11am

Very classic little game, I was a bit confuse at first on how the gravity mechanic was working, but then it got funnier :)

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:13am

This was a strange use of reversal gravity and It tooks me time to get use to it. After that the game was fun, especially when you use space+jump. But I eventually finish to go throught the left wall after climbing down a very fast slope. I think I had too much speed for collision engine.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]