April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Killer

by AlvaroH - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Little game developed in 4 hours. Press X to kill all enemies and win the game. Stay away from sewers, bad people can come. Short, simple and funny.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#444Humor2.40
#641Audio2.55
#932Fun2.58
#993Graphics2.47
#1160Mood2.14
#1169Overall2.50
#1174Theme2.75
#1288Innovation1.88

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

enemys kept spawncamping...

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice job!
I had some issues with the game... everytime a guy would hit me, the game would stall before playing the sound...

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Nice and simple game. The big enemies took me by surprise as I was standing right next to the black boxes when killing the last small guy. Vertical shooting might have been nice, but good job for 4 hours!

Puffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

The game really could've used some set of instructions, took a good while for me to find the shoot button.

I liked the enemy sprite :)
Ability to restart the game after you have died would've been nice too

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

So to be clear...Is it supposed to look like he is in a padded cell?

AyCe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Definitely theme: Straigt up shoot everybody.
It was a bit annoying that you can lose multiple lifes on one enemy.
Some bug with the sprite flip: When walking diagonally the sprite sometimes remains in the left/right pos while the figure is actually shooting at the correct side.
Oh, and the fire button is X everybody.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I thought it was taking inspiration from that old halloween commodore game but then suddenly I found I can shoot XD

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Thanks for playing! The game had to be finished in 4 hours... And yes, press X to kill everyone!!

Overv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I thought it was too easy, but then suddenly these huge enemies showed up! It was a cool surprise to me. The look of the enemies is cool, but the gameplay could be a bit more innovative.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Ha. Those bigger guys scared me to death when they first appeared.

AlvaroH says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Stay away from the sewers!! ;-)

wy477wh173 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:03pm

The bio says it was made in 4 hours, so props for that, but the game was really loud and there wasn't any real clear goal. When the big enemies spawned it made me jump, so you got a point for humor. :)

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

So, after giving it another try, i must say, it defintitly is nice, especially for 4 hours, good job dude!

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Nothing else to really say than a simple and short game. Not the best around but for the couple of minutes it runs, it's alright.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18pm

Simple and fun. You shoot, enemies die.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26pm

THE HUGE GUYS GOT THE JUMP ON ME! Caught me off guard, haha! Not bad for 4 hours!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Pretty nice for the development time. How about making the game a bit harder to increase play time?

davidB says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:54am

Simple & Fun. Where are "replay" or "continue"?

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:37pm

LOLZ! I kinda flinched when I saw them. :) Good job!

acro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:24am

Good for the development time. Would be nice to see some AI and additions like being able to shoot vertically or in a different direction to your movement.

AlvaroH says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:28am

Thanks!! Taking notes from your tips for a revision. Maybe in holidays... :-)

Lizzip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:07am

pew pew pew pew pew

May 3, 2013 @ 6:42am

Pretty nice, the music was nice and addicting :)

May 3, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Fairly simple fun but I'm not complaining considering it was just developed in 4 hours.

Robrock55 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:46pm

a simple game, a nice design, a good moment of fun.

May 5, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Thanks for posting the gameplay video. I couldn't play the entry since I'm not on Windows.

psychopsam says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:18am

I won! 3 lives 18400 - great game. Nice and quick and unassuming. Very well done!

juaxix says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:31pm

OK, I won :)
Good job with those guys sprites and collisions hehe
--
Para 4h está genial ;)

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Would have been nice if the enemies reset when you die, but otherwise quite playable. Amusing animations too.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:37pm

nice job on the game in the short time -- great job -- gave you good score for theme

HelkeGames says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Nice game, neat concept!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]