About | Rules and Guide
ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 7 days, 2 hours, 0 minutes, 38 seconds
  • October Ends: in 8 days, 2 hours, 12 minutes, 38 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 43 days, 3 hours, 0 minutes, 38 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Colors - jadams - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    A puzzle-platformer in which you need to guide all three figures to their exits by switch the colors behind you.

    Built using the HTML5 canvas element and so should work in any modern browser. I've only tested it in the current chrome and ff releases under windows. Requires a keyboard to play but sometime soon I'll add gamepad and touch controls.

    View jadams's journal. | View all entries by jadams

    Ratings

    Coolness66%
    #40Innovation4.05
    #212Overall3.55
    #270Theme3.86
    #271Fun3.32
    #663Mood2.77
    #758Graphics2.76
    #768Humor1.95
    #1085Audio1.18

    Comments

    Tater_hater says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:35pm

    Pretty cool, reminds me of portal for some reason

    Erifdex says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:41pm

    Really interesting game - with a lot of levels done in 48 hours! I enjoyed the fact that you had to think in a very different way than usual - almost as if I was playing through a game like Portal again.

    It seems a little unfinished in terms of graphics/audio etc, but the levels provided are varied and interesting. Very good job overall, and I hope you continue working on it!

    ataxkt says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:12pm

    Incredible! An intelligent simple puzzler that's not frustrating?! Sold, for 5 stars!

    dreamlogician says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:20pm

    A great, simple concept that fits the theme well. Nicely done!

    visibleatom says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:38pm

    I'm not sure if I cheated, but I basically ended up using player death as a way to get past the bridge level.

    sythe says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:42pm

    Good concept, simple and clever.

    rwos says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:16pm

    What a great idea! There are a lot of games looking like Mondrian's paintings here, but yours is the only one I've seen so far where that is a gameplay mechanic, and not just "hm, I need to get the theme in here, somehow". Also, you have the coolest level selector so far! :-) Fantastic game, really enjoyed that one!

    SpaceStudios says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:49pm

    I liked the idea and concept but wish there were some more levels

    avidgamerNino says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56pm

    Took me a sec to figure out that I need to be inside the color to change it. Theme worthy simplistic fun!

    davidwparker says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 1:37am

    Cool idea for a game. Great puzzles.

    LoneStranger says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 2:11am

    I love this. You have to think in three phases of existence and the 'flood fill' aspect makes you have to think ahead to make sure you don't block something off. I think this is great.

    mort96 says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:10pm

    Web game without relying on browser plugins FTW!

    TheCze says ...
    May 1, 2013 @ 10:51pm

    Cool idea and challenging. Good job.

    May 1, 2013 @ 11:40pm

    Holy shit. First I thought "Oh, well, that's some cute switchy-itchy-gamey-wamey.", and then I clicked on level 11 and thought "Fuck." - awesome!

    sharbelfs says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 12:39am

    So colorful and still so minimalist. The game is great and planned.

    Hypnohustla says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 11:16am

    You have some nice mindf***ing going on here. :) Love it. Controls took sime time to get used to. Very smooth and intuitive menu also :)

    brxtr says ...
    May 2, 2013 @ 10:42pm

    The "swap colour" mechanic makes way for good puzzles and it's decently executed for the most part. The platforming seemed a little glitchy, but is generally solid.

    miotatsu says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:07am

    very creative, it's a real mind-bender heh

    Foxtacy says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 5:53pm

    Really nice concept! Congratulations! :D

    hypp says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 5:59pm

    A great game, fits the theme perfectly!

    Nick Cash says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:00pm

    I enjoyed this immensely. It seemed easy at first, so I was happy to see the level design increase in complexity. It was very fun, and the fact that it is built entirely with HTML5 canvas is awesome.

    m64 says ...
    May 6, 2013 @ 6:52pm

    Lost Vikings of color! Great concept and game. One of the few entries I finished out of pure intellectual enjoyment of the puzzle.

    May 6, 2013 @ 7:12pm

    Great idea!

    May 16, 2013 @ 11:48pm

    Really interesting, a lot of potential

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    [cache: storing page]