April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Peter The Stranger

by NeskcirE - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Simple platformer.
Use the up and down keys to move around the menu. Use enter to select
level 3 is slightly broken, still good enough though
bringing difficulty back to games
Made with java 7
Pretty happy with this being my first LD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#492Theme3.60
#1107Fun2.31
#1203Overall2.44
#1300Graphics1.81
#1303Innovation1.81
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

Magewalkr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

I press enter to start the game and it exits :(, am i making a mistake somewhere?

Moist says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

The platform movement could use some polishing. The cube blocks on walls when falling.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02pm

I like the water physics.

NeskcirE says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

@MageWalkr the res folder is required. It contains all the audio features. If you removed it it will not work and exit. Sorry but I'm not very in depth with audio

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Hey, good to see another person that submitted his/her first entry. Good luck with you game. :3

Here's my review: The game is not bad. The physics are quite okay, the jumping does what it job and the platforms are well placed, but I really have a bone to pick with the audio. The first being the necessity of having a res file (this will be fixed once you get more experience). The second problem with the audio is that it seems too loud and a bit too unpleasant, for me personally. You might want to work a bit on the collision detection.

Overall, the game is pleasant and it follows the theme pretty well. 4/5 ;3

frankbsad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:56am

That was pretty good, congrats on your first LD!

pvwradtke says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:02am

I couldn't get it to work. Java throws an exception.

May 3, 2013 @ 12:17am

Reminds me of my first games and projects! Keep at it!
On another note... oh my those sound effects hurt my brain >_< lol

davidpeter says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:27am

Good game. Jumping is a bit choppy (linear rather than quadriatic) but otherwise it's fine. Could smooth out the collisions a bit more. A few collision errors as well. Wish you could continue from a level though because I died and didn't feel like starting over :( BTW, this works with Java 1.6 too!

mattperrin says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:30am

Welcome to LD! Interesting effect with the water buoyancy.

kingsman142 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:45am

Good game, but jumping feels weird. Also, when you're on the water, it's too jittery. Lastly, the lava is extremely difficult to get past.

Good game overall.

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:01am

Decent lil' platformer. Congrats on your first LD entry! I got stuck in the walls several times and apparently you can still jump in the air when falling if you haven't already used your jump. Hopefully you fix those bugs sometime, as well as build off of this game to create bigger and better ones in the future. Good job!

May 6, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Interesting to see such extensive use of water in a platformer. I think that using gravity-based physics (acceleration instead of constant up/down movement) would benefit the game, and those sound effects are really painful to listen to. :D Nontheless it's a good start.

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:28pm

I don't have Java installed. Sorry :(

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:01pm

The broken physics were funny (walking on the ceiling...) ;)
Not bad but I couldn't pass the underwater lava passage (too hard). The sounds are a bit painful.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]