April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Make Friends Don't Bake Them

by Almax27 - Jam Entry

Our first Ludum Dare, so tired but it's been fun!

Made using Flixel, Box2D and Tiled.

Lost, alone and afraid, you seek answers. Someone has them, but your questions keep changing. Maybe there's help in the dark, maybe there's a way out... maybe you can find somewhere to hide.

Thanks for the opportunity and motivation!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#20Humor(Jam)3.81
#26Overall(Jam)3.95
#34Mood(Jam)3.85
#43Fun(Jam)3.64
#55Innovation(Jam)3.74
#126Audio(Jam)3.42
#176Graphics(Jam)3.62
#307Theme(Jam)3.17

Comments

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:11am

This was awesome! Super creative, I love all the potato-related twists. Best game I've seen so far.

techmonkey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

Cool game, I enjoyed it

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17am

Your game is evil and I love it. Well done, great gameplay. Did not run into any bugs. Fantastic job

Dax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:25am

That was cool but very frustrating when you die because you fail a jump

LPGhatguy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:30am

I love it!

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:45am

I really, really liked this. It broke expectations in just the right way, and made me feel clever even while tricking me. Nicely done!

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22am

Great job! loved blastin the eyeballs ;)

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:26am

Oops..wrong window open for the comment :/ ignore my last one. Loved the concept for this game, and the animation and controls work great! Set the timing perfectly to get through the levels too. Nice job!

Kalakian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Great game, and well suited for the theme. Fun, addictive, and frustrating. I'm sure that level I couldn't get past is impossible, and it has nothing to do with me being crap :P

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Nice, I like that I ended up looking at the level and trying to work out where they were going to screw me over when the lights went out. The scrawled messages were a great addition.

TheSarcastic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:15pm

HAHHAHAHA made me laugh so much! Amazing man :)

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Cool mechanic. I've always liked games that required me to control something "blindly" -- I even made a snake game based on this idea a few months ago: http://blind-snake.s3-website-us-east-1.amazonaws.com/

I have to admit, I'm feeling inspired by your game!

Nice little tune -- it's intense but in a creepy sort of way that obviously fits well with the dark motif in the game.

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Also, I love how the writing on the wall changes! Subtle, but effective. Great work!

xandy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:25pm

very cool game concept! a bit hard but good :)

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Great idea, great execution, great atmosphere. Really great overall! My only remark would be about the controls and platforming not being good enough to justify the extremely short times you earned for picking up a potato or standing in a light. It sometimes got more frustrating than fun due to amount of forced trial and error, especially when you knew what to do but couldn't make a certain jump.

hypp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Very creative and fun. Though a bit hard!

fullmontis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:01pm

I love the graphical style and smoothness of the animation on the main character. Also it is damned hard! Really enjoying this.

davidB says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I enjoyed it, a bit difficult for my old brain and fingers.

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Super-good! A bit tough for me though, I got stuck in the 4th or 5th level. Those changing graffitis make me paranoid :P

Jhelle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Loved the mood and the drawings on the walls. And enjoyed the gameplay too.

berareu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:25pm

All around a great game! I really loved all the twists during the gameplay!

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Nicely done. :)

CMaster says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:07pm

That was a lot of fun.

Was weird how sometimes the light messages were reliable, somethimes the dark messages were. Very tricksy.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:07pm

The jump detection was a bit frustrating, & a meter showing how much time in the shadows was remaining would have been most welcome.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Somehow I like the lights on/off thing. Looks familiar (check my entry if you want to know what I mean).

I managed to get past several levels but couldn't beat it.
The art style is, different, to say the least. I like it.

The movement speed and particularly the jumping action could have been faster/more responsive, since the time one have to complete the level seems a bit unforgiving for my skills.
Nonetheless I get that it is supposed to be a not-that-easy kind of game.

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Whaoh nice. and really tough later

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:30pm

I love it, but the platforming physics were awkward. I really love lighting in games, and you did it really well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]