April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ninja Cube

by Hertzila - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First time participating here. Hopefully I've done nothing wrong.

Ninja cube is about a ninja who wants to show other ninjas just how tough guy he is and intends to do so by climbing absurdly high by jumping between different projectiles, things like arrows, ballista darts, javelins and even rockets.
Since the cube is a ninja, he can jump extremely long distances and nothing can ever hit him, but there's still a limit on how well even he can recover from falls. Fall off too much and you'll need to start from the ground again.


The game is pretty minimalist as far as gameplay and graphical design goes, but difficulty-wise, it can be pretty challenging if my testing is of any indication.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#210Fun3.42
#242Humor2.78
#595Innovation3.08
#653Overall3.08
#668Mood2.76
#694Audio2.46
#840Graphics2.67
#863Theme3.21
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:46pm

I like it :)

enzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:58pm

ninjastic!

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Nice job! 922 metres was my record.

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Really easy, I could go on forever by just mashing left and right button.

TinyGolem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:19pm

Button mashing goodness :) I think I got a cramp in one of my fingers.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Fun game, I got 3122 meters high :) then failed. worked perfectly and I downoaded the zip.

lanz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I love this game! It's incredibly fun. Ninja animations and trail are perfect. Rocket trails and sparkles are cool. Sounds is good to (woosh-woosh!). The only thing I dislike is title screen.

Tapestry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Congrats on your first Ludum Dare entry! It was a nice game, but I felt it was a bit too easy.

Cirrial says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Awesome. Very fluid feel to the jumping. Got to about 1400 metres thanks to the rockets.

VDOgamez says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I didn't really understand how the game was working, but by pressing the arrow keys you just keep going up indefinitely. I don't really think there's a way to lose unless you just let go of the keys. However, I think if I was playing it right (and if you had enforced that so I knew the right way to play) then I would have had a lot more fun, because you say it's apparently challenging when played correctly. Nice job for a first time participating, though.

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

It was fun until I got to 8000 metres by just hitting left and right. And I only had managed to get to 4000 meters by actually trying to play the game properly. Otherwise It's got very nice graphics and sound, and goes with the theme perfectly. Good job.

mattperrin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:05am

Not sure what's going on but I'm getting a core dump...

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Ninja Cube.exe
Application Version: 1.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 517d738f
Fault Module Name: KERNELBASE.dll
Fault Module Version: 6.1.7601.18015
Fault Module Timestamp: 50b83c8a
Exception Code: e0434352
Exception Offset: 0000c41f
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Read our privacy statement online:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0409

If the online privacy statement is not available, please read our privacy statement offline:
C:\Windows\system32\en-US\erofflps.txt

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:56am

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

gmaker says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:59am

really fun game! great job dude!

May 5, 2013 @ 9:54pm

A really great first entry! :)

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 6:25am

I really enjoyed this entry! Very simple, very fun, and very addicting! Got up to 7162 before I was satisfied. Great job!

numpad says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:53pm

My score 1205 :) Is this good, bad, anyone?
Reminds me to Doodle Jump, but with Ninjas :)
Controls were really confusing, but I got used to it.
The graphics were a bit strange, but funny.
Nice entry!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]