April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

CompositionTD

by Wilson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Inspired by Composition No. 10 by Piet Mondrian.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#90Innovation3.84
#505Theme3.58
#540Graphics3.05
#619Overall3.11
#777Fun2.74
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11pm

This game sure does have a steep learning curve. I'd recommend you add a symbol to the colored areas, which represents what they do. For example a fist for strength (red), a bull's eye for range (blue), a stopwatch for recharge time (yellow) and a thermometer for cooldown (green), and possibly the stat the color decreases in red or with a minus symbol next to it. It's rather hard to remember each effect, at least at first.

The other thing I'd recommend is that you remap the controls. The location of z and y is different in parts of the world (qwertz vs qwerty keyboard), and it's a bit difficult to play with z where y is on your keyboard.

Now don't get me wrong. The game is actually good and enjoyable, It's however difficult to get into at first, and first impressions count. If you improve the way you deliver the instructions, it'll make it accessible to a much wider audience. (I actually didn't know it was a tower defense game when I started the first wave, 'TD' is not as obvious as you'd expect)

RexSpaceman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:43am

Very clever interpretation of the theme and quite fun, but I'll agree with errorage, very difficult to figure out what to do. Some more "easing into things" would've been nice.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:31am

Nice game, but really hard! I enjoyed the difficulty though, the graphics are crisp.

One thing, the Close Button doesn't close the game. Overall great job!

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44am

It seems overpacked with features. I don't like the tower recharging, I think you should make one game with drawing and another with recharging. Also, colors are difficult to remember. At least let us use the 'shift' hint when we want, and don't throw us to level selection when we do so.

TheCze says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

I really like the idea and the level looks really interesting after drawing some stuff in it.

AndyBumpkin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:45am

Also agree that a little more needs to be added to the color to indicate their function. However nice way to incorporate the minimalist artwork!

Could have done with some music but enjoyed a few rounds of this :)

Stuffie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:15pm

A bit difficult to figure out at first and lots of crazy keys to press (may have been nice to leave the legend for the keys on screen or easily accessible) but once I figured it all out though it was quite a fun game and a clever interpretation of the theme.

netmute says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:56am

I'm on a Mac, sorry :(

HelkeGames says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Nice game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]