April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

They Explode

by Andre Kent - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My tools were Paint Tool SAI(Drawing), Photoshop(Some design), After Effects(Most Animations) and Construct2(Programming and Love <3).

This is my first time attending to Ludum Dare, so I'm not entirelly aware everything was done right. Sorry the game has no music or sounds (I took it off when someone told me I wasn't suppose to use ANYTHING I didn't made. \o\) The theme is laid uppon simple colors (I think I used 8 of them) and by playing with non-detailed shapes and pixellated graphics.

Hope you guys enjoy it.

(PS: It appears the EXE has some kind of bug on the character sprites related to WebGL recognition. Give preference to the Web version, plus, aslong as I made it in Construct 2, I have no "Source code", so I just uploaded the whole project file in .Capx)


Thanks alot! It was awesome! :D <3


-Andre Kent (@Lemon_Kent)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#28Graphics4.26
#431Mood3.06
#519Humor2.26
#610Overall3.12
#731Fun2.79
#1264Innovation1.97
#1349Theme1.94

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23am

Fantastic graphics, and tight controls! Shooting was a bit off though but fantastic job!

saguaro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30am

Love your art.

saint11 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34am

I love the art style! Great job :D

rujo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

cool graphics, not sure about the theme relations but a nice entry anyway

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

it looks rly beautiful!!!

hamrath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50pm

The art is cool, is it really done during the compo? But not really minimal imho.

Andre Kent says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Yeah! :D I streamed it from the very beggining to the last minutes of the compo, including the submission~ Everything was made from scratch.

Kitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

the game looks fantastic, though I'm not sure i would file the art under "minimalism". i experienced an issue where i couldn't go up stairs (win 7, chrome)... which was an issue because that arrow kept pointing up... i also have that problem in real life though.. so it may just be me. overall, good work!

Sylvain.p says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Good work on the graphics, too bad that the web version of the game was very slow here!

Arcana says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:56am

The graphics were amazing. Artwork was great.

Game's super hard though... maybe I'm just not good at these things but enemy bullets were tiny and things took a lot of hits before they died. It was difficult to progress I felt. I liked the basic idea of the controls though, where you ran and shot in the direction of the mouse. They felt fluid but it was so much shooting. Jumping on another button would have been nice (spacebar or similar) rather than "up".

Andre Kent says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I'm working on improoving the game a little! :D The enemies will have lower health, the ones that shoot will have a little less rate of fire. Their damage will go up, but you'll also be able to jump and shoot at the same time. I suppose I can set spacebar as alternate jump button! Some things are yet to be fixed. Sorry it's so hard :{

Norgg says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Looks great! The enemies that shoot as fast as you do were really hard to fight against without taking massive damage though, I only managed to get one token.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Awesome art! Like, really great art. The gameplay is fun and interesting, but the lack of sound feedback makes it tough.

HD408 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:09am

Looks really good. As many people mentioned, it's rather hard, but that's certainly a nice start. Good luck.

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:01am

The game would be more readable with bigger, brighter or more blinking bullets... There's also some bullets flying through monsters which make me think the collision engine would need some steps for fast projectiles (maybe also because of my low cpu ) . I like the colors and the graphism. This level is huge for a 48h compo and you even have a very classy title screen. Congratulations for creating such a game in a short time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]